Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Photoshop is Magic for the Skin and the Nikon 50mm 1.4 is Magic for the Eyes June 12, 2008

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…when you’re itching to take portraits but you have no one to pose for you – go ahead take some self portraits! It’s strange but fun at the same time….at least for me! *LOL*

After I took my friend’s baby with the big blues eyes (that came out so sharp and neat looking) I was really dying to take additinoal photos with the Nikon 50mm 1.4 (it’s still a very new lens for me and hasn’t gotten a lot of use yet). So, I went outside in my backyard after work and took some photos of myself (since I’m all I had)! *LOL*

Now, onto my skin…I can tell you that’s how my skin really looks….but if I tell you that…would you believe me? Probably not! But, I wouldn’t believe me either! :) I will say that Photoshop and Noise Ninja are magical for skin!

As for the way my eyes look…I love the results with this lens! The lens is also a magical item! I suggest you all run right out and get yourself one of these tiny little lenses if you are crazy about sharp eyes and crazy depth of field like I am!

I had the tripod above me pointing down for this one

Similar set up here

with a smile :)

without a smile :|

The hazards of self-portraits with a 50mm…you can’t hold your arm far enough away to get your whole head in landscape orientation! LOL

Ok…big smile here

I love half-face shots like this and this was on accident! Lo-o-o-o-o-ve that sparkly depth of field!

 

Jen 

xoxo

 

12 Responses to “Photoshop is Magic for the Skin and the Nikon 50mm 1.4 is Magic for the Eyes”

  1. Julie Says:

    You have the best eyes! Seriously.

  2. JulieM Says:

    Jen, isn’t it a fantastic lens? I have the Canon version and have made it sort of a mission to shoot with it only. It’s barely been off my camera since Christmas. You’ve done a wonderful job of showing off it’s portrait capabilities. Do you mind mentioning the range of fstops you used for this set?

  3. Mike Palmer Says:

    Lets see, great exposure, nice Bokeh, the post is fantastic – oohhh yeah BTW you look pretty nice also = )

  4. Jenn Black Says:

    Hi Jen – I’ve been a bit delinquent with keeping up with your blog of late…just wanted to say that I love the new template! Also, the Villanova shots are nothing short of spectacular; gives me something to aspire too…someday! Also, great work with your self-portraits; I guess it helps when you have BEAUTIFUL eyes to work with in the first place!!
    ~Jenn

  5. Oscar Says:

    Boy are we all lucky! We get beautiful photos seen through beautiful eyes!

  6. Julie L – thanks my friend. :)

    Julie M – thanks! it’s such a fantastic lens. i love it! i’ll take a look at the settings when I get home from work and try to post them for you.

    Mike – awww, kind sir, thank you! *smiling* :)

    Jenn B – that’s ok! I’m glad to see you stopping by!! I’ve been delinquent too…lots going on lately…I haven’t had as much time to visit all of my favorite blogs…just need more time in the day!

    Oscar – what can I say my friend….Thanks. :)

  7. PS: Now I just need to get more sleep so I can get rid of the bloodshot eyes! LOL! I got tired of photoshopping it out after a while!

  8. oneshotbeyond Says:

    Love the 3rd shot down and the last shot! The last is my absolute favorite of you!!!

    and I ordered the lens yesterday…how ironic I put in a reminder notice on B&H over three weeks ago and it hit my inbox a few hours before you posted this! I cannot wait for it to get here and start practicing.

    Of course my eyes won’t do it justice like yours do. Every color in your eyes shows up beautifully!

  9. Oscar Says:

    That shot next to the recent visitors box made me get a tissue for you! Its so lifelike!

  10. Heather – i’m so happy for you that you ordered the lens! I hope you have great joy with it! I think you will love it! In fact…I know you will love it!

    Oscar – lol…a tissue!! My eyes are glassy but they’re not crying! AHAHA! I’m so glad we added an Oscar the Grouch picture of you when you write a reply. Now I smile everytime I see it!

  11. Enigma3 Says:

    Jen,

    Those photographs want to make me give you a gentle kiss on each one of those beautiful green eyes.

  12. LOL Wolf…now we’re gettin’ personal! :D


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.