Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

All Around Town March 20, 2009

I’m sorry there hasn’t been a post in a couple days…that’s not like me at all.  I had this one “almost” ready for two days but never was able to finish it because I wasn’t feeling well for over a week.  I finally want to the doctor today and it’s a double ear infection and sinusitis!  Some girls have all the luck! I’m on antibiotics and hope to be feeling better in 24-48 hours!

You’ve been seeing bits and pieces of my day in Wilmington and today I will share a little bit more.

The day in Wilmington consisted of touring around downtown Wilmington near the Cape Fear River.

We had gorgeous 77 degree weather which made for the perfect day to walk along the Cape Fear River and see all of the sights.

While people waited for the Tall Ship Tour (The Peacemaker) we checked out the ship and the crowd.  I always enjoy candid photos like the following.

*Click the photos to view larger*

“A feather in your cap”

USS North Carolina

The Henrietta III

The trolley tour guide was so sweet.  He told us all about the Amish-raised horses and how wonderfully they are cared for and let us pet them for a while.  He even took our photo with the horses.  They were beautiful and had the softest fur ever.

Throughout the day we saw businesses and attractions in Wilmington’s Downtown Historic District that are frequently used as locations on one of my favorite “Teen Dramas” :)  One Tree Hill, including:  CD Alley (8 Market Street) is the CD store where Chris (Tyler Hilton) worked.

Port City Java-Downtown II (300 N. Front St.) stood in as Karen’s Café in the pilot episode. Once the series was picked up, crews built a designated set for Karen’s Café on the opposite corner of Grace Street at North Front Street. During season 6 the set for ‘Karen’s Cafe’ was removed and the space was transformed into the Clothes over Bros. set.

I put my camera lens up to the window and shot some of the Cloths over Bros set:

…and of course I posed in front of the “Karen’s Cafe” painting on the wall of the building that used to be the cafe and is now the store. :)

We didn’t get to eat at this restaurant but I wanted to. It overlooks the Cape Fear River and you get your own cute little private balcony

This building is for sale. It made me laugh when I saw that they had drawn fake store front items on it to make you use your imagination of what it could be!

I have more to share soon…once I have time to edit.

Right now I’m concentrating on the wedding I have tomorrow at the beach in NJ, then getting better, and then the wedding I have next Saturday in Myrtle Beach, SC.

 

8 Responses to “All Around Town”

  1. I’ve got relatives from Wilmington…. none of them are in your pictures though ;-) – cool series.

  2. Jo Says:

    beautiful shots of a beautful town on a beautiful day – great job jen!

  3. I love that dog! :-) And the one of you. This must have been so fun. I’m bummed you didn’t run into any of the cast of OTH. I love that show too. I am still a teen at heart! :-) HA

  4. Julie McLeod Says:

    Feel better soon, Jen!

    Wilmington looks really neat. I love that warehouse building and the CD Alley…

  5. suehenryphotography Says:

    Jen, hope you get to feeling better soon. Sounds like you have some busy days coming up with weddings and all.

    I enjoyed visiting Wilmington through your eyes/lens!

  6. These are incredibly awesome. (And so are you.)
    Feel better honey!

  7. Mike Palmer Says:

    Thanks for the tour!! Looks like a fun day in the sun!!

  8. David M. Says:

    Great photos, that warehouse you photographed was used in the film “Date with an Angel”, the main character’s friends live in that warehouse and the back entrance says “Moshe’s World Theatrical Supply”, I’d be interested if the place has been rented or sold…


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.