Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Worked on Some Landscape Shots from October – AND – Nikon 105mm f/2.8G VR AF-S Reviews December 6, 2007

Yes, I’m so backed up on editing photos from my Sunday excursions with my sister that I was editing shots from October. The funnier part is that I have shots from April – the present unedited!

Yesterday I decided I would work on some of the photos I took when we went to Assunpink (I wrote about it back around October 15th or so).

A few favorites that I put a soft filter on (click to enlarge):

I can’t decide between the B&W and Color on these shots..I’ll have to post them on the forum I’m a member of to see what everyone thinks…

Color

B&W

Color

B&W

I’m leading towards color…we’ll see what everyone thinks.

And here is the favorite of today. I titled it “The Long Road Home.” I converted it to B&W and then burn & dodged the sky to enhance the sky & clouds to their fullest potential.

Please click to enlarge because the small view looks pixelated:

I’ve been wanting the Nikon 105mm f/2.8G VR AF-S lens but before I say that I definitely want it for my Birthday/Christmas I wanted to read as many reviews as I could since it’s a VERY big purchase.

B&H Photo is offering the lens for $759.95.

What I don’t like is Ken Rockwell’s review written Febrary 2006. He didn’t recommend it at the time and he mentioned that he hoped the auto-focus feature would be improved.

PopPhoto.com gave a very good review of te lens.

The Nikonians give the lens a good review and showed a test photo as if was used a portrait lens.

DPReview site gives a full overview of the lens.

I was lucky to find a Nikon Micro 105mm VR Sample Gallery on Pbase.com and the images look really great. The details in this sample gallery is tremendous! I’m glad I stumbled upon it.

Buythom.com had a very thorough review of the lens that I found exremely helpful and helped me to really understand the use of the lens.

 

5 Responses to “Worked on Some Landscape Shots from October – AND – Nikon 105mm f/2.8G VR AF-S Reviews”

  1. Liz Says:

    HI Jen, I like the black and white but they lost some of the tree detail, for me I like the leaves in the colour, but I think it is more powerful in black and white, emphasises the patterns.
    Liz Finlayson
    http://www.maramaart.com

  2. Julie Says:

    That is one hefty lens. You would get stares going out with that thing. LOL
    I love your landscapes. I am also going back from previous months and working on editing or re-editing. Talk to you soon.

  3. Chris Says:

    Hey you have so nice shots my favorites r ur b&W’s. What kind of camera do u use?

  4. Jen Weaver Photography Says:

    Thanks Chris. I shoot with a Nikon D80. 🙂

  5. Mario Says:

    very cool shots!


Leave a Reply

