On the Rooftop

Last night I went to a 4th of July “Rooftop Party” in Redbank.

The party was literally on a rooftop and it was a very fun setting especially being able to see the fireworks so well! The invite said:

Come and enjoy the Red Bank Fireworks on Lorene’s tropical rooftop. Rock to the music by the Jonzes. Create a moment of stardom at Guitar Hero or bowl a few frames in the Wii room. Feast on the fabulous Pig Roast with all the fixins. Bring your favorite bottle for the Ice Luge. Sangria and Beer will be served. We hope to see you there.

The hostesses are friend with my friend Tiffany. Tiffany promised that I’d bring my camera along so I did – even though I didn’t know anyone there. I decided that it didn’t matter if I knew anyone or not and took a lot of photos (I figured the hostesses would appreciate having their party documented..even if I was scare of the people with the water guns squirting my beloved camera).

On the way to the party camera phone photo!!

We got there just in time to see the fireworks. The only fireworks photo captured was a lousy one from my camera phone LOL!

Video of the fireworks finale from my Canon Powershot A620

The Jonzes were great! At one point Meleah thought they had turned on a Led Zeppelin CD because they sounded so amazing! If you’d like to check them out – see their myspace page: http://www.myspace.com/thejonzesband

If you’d like to hear a piece of them live see my short video clip below:

Or take a look at Meleah’s video which has a lot more of the song:

Here is one photo where I turned off the flash, bumped the camera up to some ridiculously high ISO and took some of the part goers dancing. I think they turned out pretty neat:

Tiffany and one of the hostesses – Lorene:

And the 2nd host, Bonnie, and her husband:

Lorene’s dad got them on stage!

Here is a video Meleah took of them rocking out on stage:

Lorene testing out the ICE LUGE:

Tiffany & Lorene entertained us with some Karaoke with a Fergie song even though Tiffany didn’t know the words. ๐Ÿ™‚

If I have time I’ll upload the video to UTube of them singing and add it here if it came out okay…

Me and my girls!

It wouldn’t be me if I didn’t find a way to at least get into a few photos…(even if that means handing my camera off to someone else…which most of the time means that they don’t realize they have to look through the viewfinder to take the photo :))

And Meleah handled the camera like a pro ๐Ÿ™‚

Good job Tiffany! You done good with the next two! ๐Ÿ™‚

And one last one Tiffany took of yours truly. I’m sure she just wanted to show off her skills on my hair coloring, highlights, and haircut that she gave mes yesterday afternoon! LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

There were so many more photos but this is how I’ll sum up my night out with my friends and the trusty Nikon.

10 thoughts on “On the Rooftop

  1. what a great group of friends you have! I’ve never seen an “Ice Luge” thanks for sharing!

    Happy 4th Jen…take the Nikon tonight and get some fireworks on it…I bet they’ll turn out great!

  2. looks like a rockin good time.
    im ignoring the 4th… not in the mood… but thrilled to have the day off.

  3. Jen, this night was sooo damn funny. Even though there was NO AIR CONDITIONING. At. All. I never sweat so much in all my life.

    However, I am so happy that Tiffany dragged us here.

    The fireworks and the band were incredible. I’d love to see that band play live again.

    xxoo

  4. Well it looks you finally came out of your shell a little bit. Thanks Tiff and Mileah! I’m partying with you next time!

    Great shots – what else is new at JRP! Fun videos and commentary. You rock Jen!

  5. I had such a great time with my girls! The band really did rock. Meleah and I were saying we need to start following them to performances like “groupies” LOL!

    Heather, Lee, Sue, Wolf – yes, it was a great locale for the fireworks and a fun time!

    Mike – awww thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

    Oscar – as Tiff said – next time you’re coming with us!!

Leave a comment