Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

My Gift July 12, 2008

I wanted to get Tara and Adam a mounted canvas print of my favorite photo that I took of them from their wedding.

When I was editing the original I applied a texture to it and really loved the result.

LEFT: ORIGINAL RIGHT: WITH TEXTURE:

(click images below to view larger)

I ordered the canvas print from SMUGMUG who I use for my website, while Tara & Adam were away on their honeymoon. The package arrived this week and I gave it to them I saw them today.

Smugmug describes the Mounted Canvas Prints on the their website as:

Printed on heavy duty PremierArt Water Resistant Canvas, then finished with a dry lamination process that is UV and water resistant.

The canvas is stretched and then wrapped over a wooden frame. Your photo extends to cover the sides of the frame for a beautiful presentation.

Below are some photos of how the canvas print turned out.  I hung it on my wall to see what it would look like hung

(click images below to view larger):

When Tara came home from the honeymoon she said that this photo was her favorite photo from the wedding.  So I was so excited to hear that because it was the exact photo I had picked out for this gift  before I even knew it.

When the opened the box and saw it the loved it!  Tara hung it up on a shelf in her family room immediately.  I’m so happy they love it!

 

6 Responses to “My Gift”

  1. JulieM Says:

    That looks awesome! I always hear about canvas prints (and gallery wraps) and had not seen a real life example of how they turn out. Thanks much for sharing it!

  2. suehenryphotography Says:

    Like JulieM, I was pleased to see your example of a gallery wrap. I am looking forward to having a couple of my pieces finished in that manner.

    That is such an awesome image and gift. I’m sure Tara and Adam will treasure it for many, many years to come.

    It’s such a great feeling to share one’s work with others, isn’t it! To see their reaction……sigh.

  3. I love it Jen! I told you they would too!!! That’s the sweetest thing to do for a bride…especially coming from the photographer who took it! You gotta start signing them.

    I did one for my brother & sis in law after their wedding a couple weeks back…they loved it too! I think textures really come out good on canvas…almost gives it a brushed painting feel without having to pay extra for that effect. 🙂

    Good job on taking such a great image for them to love for years to come!

  4. leeland Says:

    i love the canvas finishing… i’ve been thinking about doing some canvas stuff for the last few years but never actually went thru with it…. hmmmmm

  5. […] Jen of Jen Rinaldi Photography – “My Gift“ […]

  6. Oscar Says:

    Wow, thats neat! I didn’t know you could do that. Thats really sweet of you!


Leave a Reply

