Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Redeux July 23, 2008

As we progress or think of new ideas for photos it’s alway a good idea to go back and revisit older work.  This way you’re apply new tricks to old photos and breathing new life into them.

After my recent visit to the Colonnade with Jo Ann I decided to go back and revisit the self-portraits I did at the same location (when I was shooting HDRs of the columns) back in February.

I suggest you go back and revisit some older photos you took and see if they would benefit from a new process you’ve learned, a new software you acquired, etc.  You may find a hidden treasure!!

All of the images below were re-processed today with newer techniques I’ve been working with:

(reminder you can click on of the horizontal any images to view them larger)

This is “Serious Jen”– yes, she’s in there too under all the silliness. 🙂

You don’t always have to erase the texture away on the subject.  This one worked well leaving it as is with just a lowered opacity.

3 different versions of this one:

And the same photo above with all 3 textures on top of each other:

My Mom 🙂  Ooooooh I love this one!

Mom – you’re sizzling here!

Thanks Heather for the lovely verse!  It’s become one of my favorite quotes to live by:

 

8 Responses to “Redeux”

  1. I love revisiting old pieces and trying new variations of edits on them. These all turned out so yummy. 2, 5, 6, 7, 11 and the one of your MOM really stand out to me. My absolute favorite of them all is 7. Can’t explain why…I just find it facsinating!

  2. MOM Says:

    The one of “Mom” is really an improvement on the original
    It hides all my faults…………….. 🙂

  3. OKAY. These are truly works of ART. I am BLOWN away. Wow. These new techniques Rule. I worship your mad skillz

  4. suehenryphotography Says:

    I too have been “revisiting” some older pieces and totally agree we can frequently breathe new life into pieces with new techniques. Good point!

    I especially have enjoyed your use of text in this series. Also, the last image of you…love the lighting, the texture, the mystery….Bravo!

  5. Ah…Jen the textured one with the “inspiring” quote on it is too beautiful for words…and it’s in my favorite colors. I see an order brewing {wink wink}.

    🙂

  6. Oscar Says:

    Hey Jen! These are awesome! And nice to see shots of the photographer in the neat textures.

  7. Mike Palmer Says:

    That is the R2 I know and (well you know), The marble Jen is my favorite of the bunch –

  8. leeland Says:

    the 5th one… WOW!!!


Leave a Reply

