Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

My Oldest Friend… August 13, 2008

Toni and I go way back…when I say “way back” I really mean it!

Snowhill PreSchool in Spotswood, NJ to be exact!

This far back….

That's me (front row FARTHEST right) on the end and Toni is next to me at Preschool graduation.

That's me in the middle of the photo with the red bandana and the knee high socks walking towards Toni on the back wall with the red bandana at PreSchool graduation.

I told you it was waaaaay back!

Toni and I are still great friends 30 years later.  The only difference is that she is that, now, she is a wife and mother with a wonderful family!

When she asked me to take portraits at the beach of her family I agreed immediately.  We met Saturday at Avon By The Sea, NJ for the photo shoot around 6pm so we could take advantage of the beach at sunset.

I thought it would be pretty empty at that time…but I was WRONG!  It was packed and people continued to stay filled with people until we left at 8pm.


This was little E’s 2nd time to the beach and she LOVED every second of the experience.  She was enthralled by everything going on around her so it was wonderful to be able to capture those natural curious expressions and reactions from her.

One of my favorites from the shoot!

She had her purple pail and yellow shovel to keep her busy and she was enjoying herself digging:

Whether it was a seagull, a kite, a boat, a child playing in the water…everything was like a new experience to “E.”  She seemed to really enjoy herself!  Look at the wonderment on her face!

Dad got in some great photos with “E” as well.

We all tried to coax “E’ to stand in the water but she was a bit scared so we settled for her being held.

Even though you can’t see “E’s” face I adore this one!

Look at that little adorable face!!! 🙂

I made sure I got a couple of Mom & Dad too!  Love it!

And we ended the day with this one…last photo on the card too!

Toni & Jay,

I hope you love your photos of your beautiful family.  I’m so thankful to be able to capture moments of your lives in such a very special way through photography!

I truly LOVE giving the gift of “Capturing Life’s Fleeting Moments!” to the people in my life!

ENJOY!!

xoxoxo

Jen

 

13 Responses to “My Oldest Friend…”

  1. juliemcleod Says:

    These are so lovely. Every single one of them but especially the sepia toned ones. Your friends will be thrilled, I’m sure.

    (I enjoyed seeing the preschool shots too…)

  2. Toni (aka - the oldest friend) Says:

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane. You’ve got to love the bowl haircuts!!!

    So happy with all of the pictures. Now, if I could only make a decision on which ones to print ; ) I have to say, Jen, people will think I am saying this because I have known you “forever”, but you really did a fabulous job and you were so easy to work with. You were great at directing us on where the lighting was good and the best places to stand. I felt really comfortable in front of the camera, especially on the beach with all those people. After the first few minutes, I forgot they were even there. You did a really excellent job getting different poses and different backgrounds in such a short amount of time. We literally had about an hour to an hour and a half before the sun went down. So, so happy with the pictures. PS. Love the reference to little “E”, which all and all we got some great pictures of.

    Thank you, again, for capturing on of the most precious times in her and our lives! Love you!

  3. suehenryphotography Says:

    OK…so your “oldest friend” has already commented. I WAS going to say she has GOT to be pleased with each and every one of these photos.

    Each set I view keeps getting better and better and better. Isn’t it almost time for you to quit your day job and go into photography full time?

  4. julielawsonphotography Says:

    These are fantastic!! I love the processing and the candid moments you caught that just tug at your heart. Great job, Jen.

  5. leeland Says:

    SERIOUSYLY JEN- QUIT YOUR DAY JOB! these are superb!

  6. Jason Says:

    Great shoot here! The expressions and posing are excellent, and the glow from the sun is a perfect example of why we like to shoot during the “Golden Hours”!

  7. Mike Palmer Says:

    Some of your best ever Jen!! PERFECT LIGHT!!!

  8. That little girl is like an ANGEL. Wow.

    Damn I thought I had friends for a long time!

    BTW: You are adorable in pre-school. Loved the bandanna and knee high socks!

  9. I remember square dancing as a tiny student too! How awesome that you and your oldest friend stayed in touch this long.

    Now…about the photos! This is the funnest part. The portrait of “Mom & Dad” alone is so beautiful.

    The landscape b&w family shot where their daughter is pointing up to the sky at a bird, airplane, clouds or whatever it was…is my favorite!!!

    Whatever beach you found to shoot as was gorgeous to boot.

  10. Mom Says:

    Hi Jen and Toni:
    Toni your baby is gorgeous, GLH. Jen you have a great eye!

    I remember those days in snow hill pre school, and the years following while you 2 were growing up into the fine young ladies you both are now. Kisses to little E
    MOM

  11. Toni (aka - the oldest friend) Says:

    Thanks, Mom! I think it is so crazy that little E is the same age as Jen and I were when we met in Pre-School. I always wonder if E will meet someone in pre-school too, like we did. If she could be so lucky… You never know.

    Jen, I keep looking at the pictures and love them more and more and more. They really speak to how I feel about my family and the moments we have together. Again, thank you so much for such a wonderful gift.

    Also, I agree with everyone else, you should quit your day job. Seriously!

    PS. Love the nickname you gave little E!!!

  12. Oscar Says:

    Wow that neat you still keep in touch with someone from that long ago. I have a friend from the 4th grade I still see regularly. And Ironic you get to photograph her and her family today! As always Great shots!

  13. Enigma3 Says:

    Jen,

    That whole beach set is just outstanding.


Leave a Reply

