Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Jo Ann…in a Field…in the Dark August 29, 2008

I couldn’t come up with a catchy name…so the title is just what it was:  “Jo Ann…in a Field…in the Dark.” 🙂

So, strangely I’d been imagining this shoot for a very long time.  I imagined a woman…in a fancy dress…in a setting such as an open field…or a flower patch.  I wanted the evening gown to be a complete contradiction to the field..something that just doesn’t make sense…a beautiful girl all dressed up in the weeds (if that makes any sense to you!)

I told Jo Ann, my good friend and trusty photographer’s assistant (and model many times over), my idea and she was game for the idea and even had a dress that she thought would be perfect – and it was!  I was so thrilled that it was all coming together!  Last Friday I finally had a chance to do the shoot after work once the sun was setting.

I knew of a grassland preserve close to my home that had an open area for waking the trails flanked on each side by waist high natural growth of all different kids of wild flowers and wild “weeds.”  I figured this would be the perfect place to try out my imagined idea.

(Click on the landscape orientated photos to view them larger)

The only thing I didn’t figure on…was the fact that once it got dark I would no longer be able to focus my camera!  I put the camera in manual focus and tried to focus on a street light and then shot like that for a while in the dark!

And then the idea spring up to use the light of the cell phone! LOL.  Yes, we used my cell phone to light Jo Ann’s face!  It cracked me up for some reason.  She held it next to her cheek and I focused on that spot, she shut it and then I snapped.  If only I had a flashlight with me. HA! Next time!

Behind the scenes:

I have a few more to process but there are some of my favorites!  I hope you like them.  It’s so fun to have a vision and try to play it out.  And it helps to have a beautiful willing friend!! 🙂

 

12 Responses to “Jo Ann…in a Field…in the Dark”

  1. suehenryphotography Says:

    I can hear it now….the two of you giggling about how to get enough light to focus the camera! And such a creative solution! It’s always difficult to point out favorites when there are so many awesome shots but I would have to say the close up with the strong contrast of light and shadow on Joanne’s face stands out as especially interesting as do the 3rd and 4th images that show the height of the grasses.

  2. juliemcleod Says:

    Jen, every one of these is incredible. The lighting is masterful! Man-o-man, I wish I could do this!

  3. Mike Palmer Says:

    you go strobist – nice execution of an idea – 6th from the top is my fav –

  4. I love Jo Ann- In The Dark- In A Field

  5. u are turning into a lighting genious!!! You and Joann already know my top picks. She is too pretty!

  6. Jo Says:

    jen – your talent never seizes to amaze me – i am so glad that i was able to help make your idea come to life – it was definitely a fun, yet interesting shoot – the mosquito bites alone – oh the life of a photographer! thank you again for letting me part of this – i absolutely adore the pics – who’s that pretty girl?? oh wait, that’s me! LOL

  7. julielawsonphotography Says:

    You both ROCK!!! You two just amaze me. I love this series and JoAnn….you are gorgeous!!

  8. Mom Says:

    Jen: Your talent never ceases to amaze me and I am your MOM.
    Joann you look fabulous……………..(I knew here when)

    I am proud to be your MOM………………Now go pack for our trip!!

    MOM

  9. photograffix Says:

    Hi Jen,
    I stumbled upon your blog……very cool portrait! I love your creativity and artistic talent! Nice work!!!
    Angie

  10. oscarstavern Says:

    Jen – These are great! Joanne looks …sexy! Great shots and ideas. maybe you can make ME look good! LOL

  11. LeeGro Says:

    WOW!!!!!!! Hauntingly beautiful. These are edgy, intense, and powerful. Your pictures have this incredible voice, and this shoot says so much. Again I am blown away by your spectacular work. Bravo my friend!

  12. […] Jen of Jen Rinaldi Photography – “Jo Ann… In a Field… In the Dark“ […]


Leave a Reply

