Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Day 3 Travelogue – OBX Lighthouses Here We Come! September 2, 2008

We weren’t sure what we were going to do today…beach, shopping, or sight seeing.  We checked the weather and saw that today was going to be the lowest temperature (82 degrees) of the week so we decided that today would be the best day for sightseeing.

I really wanted to see the light houses of the Outer Banks so we made that our agenda.

After my beautiful sunset photos got completely RUINED yesterday (because some silly girl, who shall remain nameless, left her camera on 1600 ISO) I was determined to make sure everything was perfect with the settings today.

We covered close to 70 miles one way to see all 3 light houses.  We were out for hours, stopping along the way.  When we left the last light house it took us a little under 2 hours to get back to our place.

We started at Currituck Beach Lightstation, which is less than 2 minutes from where we are staying in Corolla.  We visited there on our first night here but it was closed so we only saw it from afar.  Today we were able to tour the grounds and my mom patiently accompanied me while I got the photos I was interested in (which I will share when I get home & processed).

At each stop we got in a few “touristy” photos:

On our way to the next light house we stopped in Kitty Hawk at the DUNES, across from Kitty Hawk Kites. (Mike & Gordon, I know you mentioned them and I’m glad we stopped there!).

If you’ve never seen them before, they are unlike any dunes I’ve ever seen on the New Jersey shorelines.  I dragged my mom up and down the hills to come with me to check it all out.

I felt so bad for her (having to trudge along with me) but she found a nice place to hang…

…while I explored the area and climbed the mountains of sand to get some photos.

If you’d like to see how huge these dunes were take a look at this crazy video I found on You Tube—> CLICK HERE.  I didn’t make my mom do any stunts as you’ll see in the video but I did think about rolling down the hills myself! LOL!  The only thing that stopped me was that I don’t like sand getting on me…hahahahaha!

For some reason the dunes fascinated me.  I kept saying that I could hang out in the middle of the peaks and valleys of the sand for hours.   I kept commenting on how quiet it was in the middle of the dunes (I guess they acted as a sound barrier when you were in the lower valleys).  It was hot but there was such a nice breeze.

Mom is getting really great with the camera.   I love how this came out.  The DOF ROCKS!! Nice work Mom!

After the stop at the dunes, we made our way to the 2nd light house of the day – the Bodie Island Lightstation.  This was my 2nd favorite light house of the day.  The grounds were beautifully kept and I really enjoyed being there.  There’s something about lighthouses that I just love.  I can’t explain why…but I love them.  I’ve visited almost all of the New Jersey lighthouses and I think I only have 2 left to see.

This is my The Price Is Right spokes model pose.  I was saying “You can be the next lucky sight seeer to feast your eyes on this lovely striped light house.”

After we left Bodie Lighthouse we headed 45 miles South to Cape Hatteras Light Station.  We got a little messed up with the address in the GPS and went on a little detour, but it was okay because we explored another section of the Outer Banks for a few minutes…no harm done.

Heather came to the rescue and instant messaged me the address of the lighthouse on my phone so I could reprogram the directions.  Thanks Heather!!

Unfortunately, we arrived after the light house closed for the day.  I actually saw the attendant driving away from the lighthouse on his bike.  🙂  Luckily this week is so quiet in the Outer Banks…I never have to wait long to have the lighthouse grounds to myself.  It was a delight not to deal with crowds!  I only had to wait on a few people here or there who stood around thinking they weren’t in the shot but had no idea what with a wide angle lens you cover a whole lotta ground!  I waited patiently and eventually they would notice me with my tripod and would scoot out of the way. 🙂

The only thing I was upset about was that I didn’t get to go up to the top of the Cape Hatteras Light House since we got there after closing. 😦  I think I’ll go back to Currituck Light House, by our place, and pay the $7.00 to go up and see some of the island from “on high.”

Mom made me laugh with this pose.

Mom was off relaxing in the shade somewhere so I put the timer on the camera and ran up the stairs for this one. LOL! 🙂

I would have loved to have taken the ferry over to Ocracoke Island (suggested by Banjo Bob) to see the Ocracoke Light Station but it was close to 6:30pm by the time we were done at Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. Unfortunaely we had to scratch that idea from our list.  I had no idea how far apart these lighthouses were until we researched them on the internet this morning!  We would have had to start the tours hours earlier to have been able to make it to Ocracoke (considering it involves a ferry ride).

I got some really great bracketed photos of the lighthouses which I’m really excited to process in Photomatrix when I get home and share here on the blog.

Well, it’s after midnight here and I’m drained from the long day of driving and laboring over all of the photos I was taking in the hot sun.  🙂 It’s a hard job but someone’s gotta do it!  LOL!!

Tomorrow is nothing but relaxing on the beach!

 

7 Responses to “Day 3 Travelogue – OBX Lighthouses Here We Come!”

  1. some gorgeous photos here Jen! You two girls look as free as the birds! 🙂

  2. suehenryphotography Says:

    Looking good. Loving the travelogue.

  3. Jonathan Says:

    I love the beach photos – especially the final shot sat in the sand.

  4. mom Says:

    Had a great time exploring with Jen…..even caught a little nap on the trip from brodie to Hatteras…… 🙂
    Praise the gods for a beach day today!!
    Love mom

  5. Oscar Says:

    Looks like a busy day! I enjoy all of those places every year and am glad you did too. Too bad you didn’t get out earlier and explore Ocracoke! I loke how clear and beautiful your shots are. Mine don’t even come close! I feel like I’m there again! Thanks!

  6. julielawsonphotography Says:

    These are wonderful Jen. I especially love the one of Cape Hatteras. Excellent photographs. I’m jealous. LOL Your mom is getting quite handy with the camera. She did a very great job!

  7. Matt Says:

    Hi Jen,
    Awesome pictures! How did the setting of 1600 ISO ruin your pictures? I just got a new Sony 360 so still learning. Yikes! I have some pictures on my web-site of my lighthouses taken near dusk, but they seem to change from the actual color? I am assuming I had the wrong setting for evening shots. I just developed the Lighthouse Utility Tower this past June and I could really use some help on taking better product pictures.
    Any idea’s? Even your mom took a better picture’s than I did. lol


Leave a Reply

