Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Travelogue Day 2- Outer Banks NC September 2, 2008

Mom started her day with a long walk on the beach with her dog Emma wile Lucas and I slept!

Then we all lounged around.  I blogged and mom read out on the 3rd floor deck.

Afterward, we headed to the beach.  It’s nothing like New Jersey beaches! Look at the sparse amount of people.

The Canon Point & Shoot has been coming in handy on this trip…

To my left…

It was heavenly to not have to squish ourselves between hundreds of people!

To my right…

Below is our section to ourselves.  That’s mom & my empty chair way out there.  I loved that we had no neighbors.  I could sing to my ipod and not break anyone’s ear drums (besides my mom).

Mom chilled with her ipod and her book…so the singing probably didn’t bother her that much! LOL

http://jenrinaldiphotography.smugmug.com/photos/363758289_fXrKi-XL.jpg

I had everything I needed for a relaxing day at the beach…beach chair, towel, a book, my ipod, my phone, my Canon Point & Shoot, a few granola bars and a couple bottles of water.  All set!

Trying something here…  🙂

The ocean was gorgeous…

…and, again, that made me a very happy girl today.

(A very happy girl with puffy wind blown “beach” hair! LOL)

After the beach we headed back to the swimming pool at our “pad.” It’s small and cozy and perfect for relaxing and cooling off after the beach.  Mom was maxin’ & relaxin’ with her stylin’ hat! 🙂

Lucas went in the pool for less than one minute and turned around and got back out.  Guess he still hasn’t figured it all out yet.

He had more fun with his best friend Emma horsing around…or should I say “dogging around?”

Lucas and I posed for a pic.   I love this furry guy.

Before dinner it was time for some pics.  Mom is getting really good with the Nikon!! (Lucas just has to sneak in!)

She even zoomed in for a nice portrait!  Go mom!

And here’s mom…(ha! I love the reflection of me and the “gun.” LOL)

And a couple photos with the pups…

Lucas looks like he’s laughing here but really he’s hinting that he didn’t want me to hold him so still for this pose:

Mom & Emma:

We headed to the Sunset Bar & Grill in Duck, NC recommended by my buddy Gordon aka “Oscar.” i who was just here staying in Corolla and left the day before we got here.

Our view from the restaurant table…It was very beautiful on the “Sound” (bay side).

We had the crab cake dinner!  Delish!!

After dinner we walked over to a local pier down the road from the restaurant.  We found a spot to sit off the road and I took the sun set photos while mom kept me company.

And another good portrait by mom…should I get her a DSLR? Ha! 🙂

It was a gorgeous sunset!

When I get home I’ll process all of the good stuff and share later.

 

8 Responses to “Travelogue Day 2- Outer Banks NC”

  1. suehenryphotography Says:

    Looks calm, peaceful, and relaxing. Just the ingredients for a perfect vacation.

    Christmas gift for mom — DSLR? 🙂

  2. LeeGro Says:

    looks so serene… just the kind of vacation you needed!

  3. mom Says:

    I am having a great time just chillin with the pups and Jen

  4. oscar Says:

    I am so jealous! I wanna come back!!! Have you an extra room! The pictures of you and mom are great! I felt like I was back there – Order me the Tuna Oscar!!! 🙂

  5. That looks amazing.

    I wish I was WITH YOU!

    Im so happy you are having a good time. You really needed/deserved this.

    Cant wait to see you when you get home.

    xxoo

  6. juliemcleod Says:

    Hmmmmm……..That place looks pretty spacious! Maybe a few of us could come down and join you?

  7. julielawsonphotography Says:

    aww i miss you! you’ll have to call me tonight. Tell your mom I said Hi! lol Hugs!

  8. Jonathan Says:

    You look amazing – wonderful photos. I like the beach “wind in hair” shot 🙂


Leave a Reply

