Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Action Packed Weekend! September 22, 2008

I hope you all had a great weekend!!  I did, but I must say I’m exhausted!  Whew!

Today’s blog title “action-packed” is probably an understatement!  I could also describe the weekend as “non-stop,”  “busy, busy, busy” or even “Jen’s Photo Frenzy!”

Saturday morning started for me with a drive to upstate New York (approximately 2 hours from me) to visit two of my college friends Stephanie & Craig.  Stephanie was in my sorority and Craig was in a fraternity where I spent a lot of time during my college years.

Stephanie & Craig recently had a baby boy and they asked if I would make the trip to their house in NY and photograph their baby “J.”  I said yes immediately!  Jo Ann and I made the trip and we had such a great time with Steph, Craig & Lil “J.”

They were truly fantastic to work with and lil “J” was amazing the whole session!  What a trooper!!  It was so great to connect with old friends and to be able to capture this very special time in their life for them!

To top off the great day – Stephanie recommended a great restaurant in Tarrytown, NY where Jo Ann and I had a great appetizer and dinner.  (Mmmmm Potato Skins!)

Here is a sneak peek from the session…

Then, today I met up with Christa & Mark for their engagement session on Fairleigh Dickinson University (FDU) campus. Christa & Mark took a ride the day before the session and found a great spot for photos by Hennessey Hall (The Mansion) on campus.  It was the perfect location!

I met Christa about 8 years ago through my childhood friend Nicole and when Christa & Mark got engaged recently, Nicole recommended me to do their engagement photos.  I was hoping they would ask me and they did!  YAY!

We had such a BEAUTIFUL day for the session…we kept saying over and over that we couldn’t believe how lucky we were! It was a wonderful 82 degrees out!  It did get a little HOT for us in the direct sun but then we just found the lovely shade to cool us down!

The trouble was that I couldn’t cool down this couple because they were sizzling hot the whole shoot (hey Christa & Mark, did you like being called “sizzling hot???”  LOL!) 😀

At the end of the session I was playing with the concept of “good sun flare” and I got this shot!  Now, this is what I call GOOD SUN FLARE!!  I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PHOTO!!

Hmmm, did I mention that I love this photo??  😀

More to come from these two sessions in the coming days!

And there are a lot more jobs coming for the next couple months that I can’t wait to share with you all!

 

14 Responses to “Action Packed Weekend!”

  1. Such a busy bee lately!!! You are doing a wonderful job with your photography. How creative the sun flare shot is! The family shot is so sweet & precious too.

  2. Banjo Bob Says:

    Sorry I got distracted by some things going on here and haven’t posted a comment recently. I really liked the last OBX series that you did. Great color!! It makes me want to return there I really miss NC. Your road trip sounds exciting keep us posted.

  3. Mike Palmer Says:

    That sun flare is one of your best Jen.

  4. Oscar Says:

    Sounds like you are a busy bee! You had a great weekend for it! Looking forward to seeing the end results! New York State is nice!

  5. Enigma3 Says:

    Jen,

    Do you ever take your finger off of the shutter release button? Do you sleep with your camera? I love photography as much as you do but where do you find the energy girl???

    I look forward to seeing the rest of the Stephanie & Craig photo shoot. Nice job on that black & white. Sometimes flare is a good thing.

  6. suehenryphotography Says:

    Love the sun flare! They can be really, really cool, can’t they!

  7. JRP Says:

    Thanks for your comments everyone!

    Wolf, I never take my finger off the shutter release button. In fact, my finger is glued permanently to my camera. I do sleep with my camera. It has it’s very own pillow!! LOL 😀 Somehow I just find the energy when I need it…but I’m really tired today after two big session this weekend.

    Next week I have 2 again…wooo I’m gonna need some serious sleep! I’m yawning like crazy today… I think I need to take a nap now on my lunch break.

  8. Wow that second (bottom) photo really is *awesome*

    Glad you had an action packed weekend.
    xxoo

  9. Julie McLeod Says:

    Oh, do I ever love these two shots!

    The pose in the family portrait is so nice and the black background is awesome. They must be so pleased with that one.

    The engagement photo captures such a perfect, intimate, private moment. I think you must have a special touch to be able to keep your subjects relaxed and natural. Well done!

  10. LeeGro Says:

    damn aren’t you just little miss busy! can’t wait to see more.

  11. MOM Says:

    Jen as usual you make me proud to be your mom………

  12. Mark Says:

    OMG: Jen, what a GREAT photo!! Your eye for capturing the moment is uncanny!!! We had such a fun time with you on Sunday and we can’t wait to see all of the photos you took!! You TOTALLY rock!!!

    The shot with the family is really great!! I really like the contrast with the parents and the baby! You really seem to have a natural passion for capturing the ‘moment’!!!

    You’d better believe!!!!

  13. Vinnie Says:

    Both of the photographs are simply amazing. I’d really have to agree with you, I love, love, love that last photo.

  14. Jo Says:

    i love love love the 2nd pic too – PIECES OF FLAIR BABY – JEN STYLE:)


Leave a Reply

