Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Christa + Mark = Engaged! September 26, 2008

Last Sunday I met with Christa & Mark for their engagement session on Fairleigh Dickinson University (FDU) campus. We spent the entire afternoon taking photos all around Hennessey Hall (The Mansion) on campus.  What an absolutely perfect location they found!

Christa & Mark met through a running club so periodically you’ll see a pair of running sneakers that “sneak” 😀 their way into some of the photos.

It was such a beautiful day with a beautiful couple!

I am really pleased with the results of the shoot and I cannot narrow down my top favorites…because of that…you’ll be seeing quite a few below so buckle up!

I’d love to hear your feedback on your favorite images as well as what REALLY struck you when you saw it and why.  Your feedback helps me to know what kind of post processing really works and what doesn’t. Thanks!!!

#1

Ahhhh Silhouette!

#2

That fountain was gorgeous!

#3

Love the way Mark looks at Christa… *sigh*

#4

#5

#6

The arches were fan-tas-ti-cal!

#7

I always wanted to take a diagonal up the stairs shot!

#8

#9

I told Mark this was his “GQ Pose”

#10

I love “stealing” moments like this one…

#11

…and like this one!

#12

Look at the sparkle in their eyes!

#13

Could they be any cuter???  I think NOT!

#14

I had a “thing” for these lanterns!

I switched to the wide angle lens just so I could get them in!

#15

Love those across the wall shots.

#16

DANGER DANGER!

#17

KEEP OUT!

I love the B&W “newspaper-y” look of this one

#18

I heart WIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIDE ANGLE!

These columns ROCKED!

#19

The Bling-Bling!

#20

I just love this….

#21

…and this

#22

Yes, I laid in the grass and asked them to walk over me slowly for this and a few other shots…

What am I not willing to do? So, far I haven’t figured that out yet.

#23

I called this my “paparazzi” moment

I wanted it to feel as if I took it hiding behind the pillar without them knowing

#24

Ahhhhhh Texture…. love this

#25

You couldn’t stage a moment like this…

#26

Always bring a step stool (especially if your short! 😀 ) !

#27

It’s raining love (corny…I know!  LOL)

#28

I loved their expressions when I told them to kick like crazy

#29

Sun Flare…mmmmmmm delicious!

#30

I know you’ve seen this one but I couldn’t think of ending this post any other way

but with this… *long sigh*

If you have some extra time on your hands and you’d like to see the entire gallery from this session in a slide show click HERE.

 

11 Responses to “Christa + Mark = Engaged!”

  1. suehenryphotography Says:

    Goodness. That was quite a selection of great shots. I started to “take notes” to try to give you the feedback you asked for, but decided to simply list my favorites. 🙂 Here goes: 1, 3, 11, 13, 22, 23, 25, 28, 29, and 30.

    I will add that I thought both Christa and Mark looked more relaxed and natural when they changed into jeans.

    Another great session, Jen.

  2. Mike Palmer Says:

    oh my that is a sensory overload of goodness!! My fav is the last one.

  3. Oscar Says:

    Wow! Real nice shots! I especially like the B&W ones! You really captured their excitement!

  4. Julie McLeod Says:

    Jen, I’m glad you asked for opinions on these portraits – pondering what I like and why is a good way to learn. These are the ones I LOVE and why…

    1. Something about the silhouette makes it seem like you caught them in a private moment. The fountain in the background is icing on the cake!
    2. Again, love the intimacy of the pose. And the fountain again!
    5. I like the blurred out brick and the way Christa and Mark are posed at right angles to each other.
    9. Great setting and poses. I like how he seems to be looking off in the distance but she is still focused on him.
    12. I love the high perspective and they both look fantastic in this one.
    26. Cute pose and I love the super-saturated color.
    30. Beautiful! So sweet…

  5. GK Says:

    Hi Jen! These are great shots! -GK

  6. LeeGro Says:

    these are all awesome! 2,6, and 16 are my favorites. this couple is going to be over the moon when they see these!

  7. Jen,

    I saw this post the day it went up but decided to come back when I had time to give you detailed feedback. In order…

    The top photo is so cute b/c you choose to feature “HIS” shoes instead of “HERS” which is the norm. I love when you break the norm.

    The 1st is classic and beautiful. The 5th is one of my top picks.

    In the 4th I like how relaxed they look.

    I’m torn on #’s 6, 9 & 11. They are all perfect to me. They give off the total package for an engagement set.

    The ring and holding hands shot are ones that make me *sigh* too.

    #29 & #30 are simply gorgeous. Great processing choice to keep them timeless throughout the years.

    You need to do engagements more often! You obviously work magic when it comes to these type shoots.

  8. Mark Says:

    Hi Jen,
    Well, I gave you my feedback on all of the picts and I’m glad to see that I’m consistent with some of the other feedback that you received via the blog! You really have an eye for what works…. let’s talk soon!!!!

  9. […] Jen of Jen Rinaldi Photography – “Christa + Mark = Engaged!“ […]

  10. christa & mark Says:

    Hi Jen,
    All the photos are so amazing, both your top favorites as well as all the others! Of your favs below, I will share my top favs and why….
    1-silhoutte is awesome, I love that we are in the shadows with such beautiful surroundings!
    4-love it, just the way we are looking in different directions, there is a casual, comfortable look to it, that isn’t to posed.
    6-love the arch, similar to the silhouette, it just has a great look to it, there is somewhat of a college feel to it…how appropriate 😉
    9-like that we are looking in different directions and the secret ‘sneaks’ 😉
    11-love the distance between the camera and us, definitely a cozy shot
    12- great shot and the eyes are so vibrant!
    13- this is so us, Mark being goofy and doing something to make me laugh ;-0
    16-the shot is great but the color of the photo is what truly makes it amazing and different!
    19-my sister was begging for a shot of the rock, but I was unsuccessful taking a close up myself.
    22-very cool, hand in hand shot.
    26-love it, totally casual
    29-the sun flare is cool and I like this one better since the flare doesn’t interfere with the view of us!
    I love looking at all the photos over and over again, I notice something new every time!!!!

  11. […] Christa + Mark = Engaged (Blurb Book) December 31, 2008 Filed under: Engagements, Photo Books, Portraits — JRP @ 12:33 am Tags: blurb, book, booksmart, christmas gift, Couples, engagement book, engagement photos, family portraits, jen rinaldi, jen rinaldi photography, middlesex county, middlesex county photographer, new jersey, new jersey photographer, new jersey portrait photographer, nikon D80, NJ, NJ photographer childrens portraits, NJ portrait photographer, photo book, photo shoot, photography, photography blog, photography book, photos, somerset country photographer I’ve been waiting to share the preview of my 2nd Blurb book for engaged couple Christa & Mark.  You may remember their engagement sessions photos posted HERE. […]


Leave a Reply

