Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

The Power of Social Networking – Facebook, MySpace, Flickr, etc. October 3, 2008

I’m very pleased with the overwhelming response for portrait bookings I have gotten lately.  And a recent influx is due to one social networking site in particular:  FACEBOOK.

Believe it or not “socially networking” with all of my grammar school, high school, and college friends, as well as co-workers and other acquaintances that are on my “list of friends” has gotten me a number of my recent bookings.  I’m in awe of it!

What could be better than having all of your contacts in one place, being able to share photos, have easy links to your website & blog, as well as keep in touch through conversation?

Not only has it gotten me some recent bookings but it’s also put my in touch with a couple hundred people I’ve always wondered about and now they are at my finger tips (which is a nice plus).

Facebook in particular has a feature for people with businesses.  You can make a “business page” and people can become “fans” of the business.  The page allows for adding photos albums, videos, notes, events, as well customer testimonials. It also lets you send updates to all of your fans all at once with a bulletin sent to their inbox.

I just created mine and I will be adding more galleries of photos to it when I have some time.

To access it click here: Jen Rinaldi Photography on Facebook

Besides the “fan” page.  My regular Facebook profile allows me areas to link to my website, add photos, a feed to my blog, feed to my flickr which posts thumbnails of recent flickr uploads, post notes to all friends, post links, as well as many other interactive things to network my business.

It even has a blog network that facebook members can join.

Mine blog network on Facebook is found here: Jen Rinaldi Photography Blog Network

Another Social Networking site is MySpace.  I have a personal MySpace page to keep up with friends but I also have a business MySpace page with some of my photography work posted.

Similar to Facebook MySpace lets you post photos, bulletins, videos, etc.

Click here to access my Photography MySpace SIte: Jen Rinaldi Photography on MySpace

If you haven’t joined Flickr you’re missing out on another opportunity to network with other photographers.  Flickr is an image and video hosting website, web services suite, and online community platform. Its popularity has been fueled by its organization tools, which allow photos to be tagged and browsed by folksonomic means.

I get so many great ideas and inspiration by searching flickr.  It’s a tremendous resource with well over 2 BILLION photos posted.

It’s also a powerful tool for having your photos “found” on the web through search engines.  With “tagging/keywording” your photos on flickr are made available for viewing by individuals or companies searching for photos and photographers.

When I was approached recently for a photo of mine to possibly be posted on the New Jersey tourism guide I asked how the marketing firm found me and it was most likely through my Flickr site.  The person I spoke with said he finds a lot of photos/photographers that way. You can link your website and your email right in your Flickr profile.

They have free accounts where you can post a limited number of photos for no charge and then they have Pro Accounts for a very reasonable yearly fee in the 25.00 range.  I recently decided to buy the Pro Account after speaking with the marketing person.  I felt like 25.00 wasn’t much to spend to be broaden my range of being discovered!

I’ve also made many contacts on Flickr since I joined.  One in particular invited me to the Neshanic Civil Ware Reenactment last April.  Without Flickr and discussion I had with this contact I never would have thought to go.  I’m so glad I did.  I got some great photos and made a new photo friend!

I just stated adding more of my portrait work onto Flickr so I’m still in the process of adding.

Click here to access my Flickr site: Jen Rinaldi Photography on Flickr

Other sites that photographers can join:

Online Photography Forums

(also valuable for networking, learning more about photography and getting noticed through searches)

jpg mag
(mine is really outdated)

Deviant Art
(again…I need to make time to update mine)

Blogs

And of course one of the top ways I’ve been getting “noticed” is through my blog. Tip: Don’t forget to tag/keyword like crazy!  It makes a tremendous difference!  I’ve had experience with Blogger and WordPress blogs and so far the numbers speak for themselves.  WordPress blows Blogger away with daily visitors!  I’m so happy I had issues with my Blogger blog because that made me switch and import my blogger blog to WordPress this past June.  The difference in visitors is tremendous!

Hopefully this information has been a help to you in some way.  It’s been on my mind for a while to share my experiences and tonight was a good night since I didn’t have any photos prepared that I wanted to share.

It’s late and I need to hit the hay.  If I made any typos I’ll fix them tomorrow!  I’m beat!

Have a great day!!

 

4 Responses to “The Power of Social Networking – Facebook, MySpace, Flickr, etc.”

  1. suehenryphotography Says:

    Great tips you’ve shared, Jen. Thanks. I probably need a “lesson” on tagging. There you go….another blog post topic!

  2. julielawsonphotography Says:

    Great post, Jen…I’m finding out how great facebook can be as well. Of course, since I’ve switched to wordpress…my hits have gone way up as well. I’m so glad that I starting blogging. Thanks for sharing.

  3. oscarstavern Says:

    You ARE truly Ms. Mass Media!

  4. LeeGro Says:

    facebook scares me!


Leave a Reply

