Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Photo Walk: NY Style November 2, 2008

I met up with my friend Brian from www.graspthemoment.com for our own version of a photo walk around Queens -NY.
Stop by Brian’s blog at: http://graspthemoment.wordpress.com/ to see some of his work along with some great writing!
We started our day at the Lutheran All Faiths Cmetery and rather than my normal fascination with sculptures…today, I seemed to be focused on the trees.
Click to view larger

Click to view larger

Black & White view of the photo above…which do you like better?
Click to view larger

Click to view larger

Our next stop was Flushing Meadows Corona Park which was the site of the 1939/1940 and 1964/1965 Worlds Fair.
I set eyes on the Unisphere (a 12-story high, spherical stainless steel representation of the Earth) for the first time.  I’ve only seen it in photos and it loved the photos I got of it!
Here are a few all taken with the Tokina 12-24 wide angle lens:

Click to view larger

Click to view larger

Click to view larger

The New York State Pavilion was constructed for the World’s Fair in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park. Designed by architect Philip Johnson (born 1906), the “Tent of Tomorrow” measures 350 feet by 250 feet, with sixteen 100-foot columns suspending a 50,000 square-foot roof of multi-colored panels. The popular exhibit for the state of New York also held three towers, measuring 60 feet, 150 feet, and 226 feet. The two shorter towers held cafeterias for the fair, and the tallest tower, as the highest point of the fair, held an observation deck. Fair visitors ascended the towers in the “Sky Streak” capsule elevators.

I hate that it’s abandoned.  I love historic places like this and I think it’s such a shame to be left to decay like this!

Click to view larger

Same photo as above but converted to B&W.  I love the color version above but the B&W adds to that feel of abandonment.

Click to view larger

You may remember in the 1997 film Men in Black, the observatory towers are revealed to contain the ships used by the first extra-terrestrials to visit Earth. The World’s Fair was organized to cover up the evidence of their landing (“Why else would they hold it in Queens?” says Agent K).

Click to view larger

Click to view larger

The last place we visited was Gantry Plaza State Park in Long Island City, along the Queens side of the East River where we got a nice great at the NYC skyline.

Click to view larger

I saw up-close what was left of the iconic Pepsi Cola sign:

And look out at the skyline at the end of the pier. 

These are my kind of clouds!!

Thanks Brian, I had a great day! 😀

I appreciate you showing me around YOUR city.

Next time you can come to Jersey and you can pretend to like it along with the pizza!

And it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t do a “me at” photo. So this is “me at” the Unisphere:

 

 

12 Responses to “Photo Walk: NY Style”

  1. I am a sucker for black n white photos

  2. julielawsonphotography Says:

    Love the black and white conversions!!! Looks like you had a great day.

  3. suehenryphotography Says:

    Jen, I enjoyed the series (who wouldn’t). But, my absolute most favorite image is the one of you and Brian together — two of my most favorite forum friends, enjoying a photo outing together.

    I try not to ever use the word “jealous” so let me see if I can turn that negative word into a positive one. “I’m so happy the two of you had the opportunity to enjoy such a wonderful photo walk together. Looks like you had a GRAND time!”

  4. What great things they have in “Brian’s” City! 🙂

    You know something…your people shots are great, but nature & places is your #1 talent for sure. I love each shot. Only you would get the angles you did and pull out the wide angle lens at just the right time.

    What a bonus for you to get some “Jen” clouds while out in the city. Very great set!

  5. LeeGro Says:

    queens has such amazing character… fantastic job capturing some of the most iconic features of the borough.

  6. MOM Says:

    And to think I was there at the “64,”65 worlds fair………..shame it is in shambles.

    Great shots Jen……………..

    MOM

  7. Oscar Says:

    WoW Nice shots JEN. Looks you had a geat day! Can’t wait to see more!

  8. Julie McLeod Says:

    Jen, this is a fascinating series. I’m so glad you shared your photos with us as well as the interesting links. You’ve made me feel like I joined you and Brian for the day!

  9. Vinnie Says:

    Sounds like a great time! I’d love to have a friend to go on a “photo walk” with. I too am a sucker for B&Ws, especially when they are converted so nicely. I’m also really liking that door shot for some reason. Nice work.

    Now I’m going to have to run over and check out your friend Brian’s version of this walk. 😉

  10. colblue Says:

    They’ve done a great job in rebuilding the world trades fair complex after that giant cockroach destroyed it. 😉 The MIB really cover their tracks well!

    Looks like it was a good day. I like the effect you got in image #4! The B&W’s really suit the scene.

  11. Grandpa Says:

    So glad you guys could pull this off. I enjoy the work you both do.

  12. Laura4NYC Says:

    Amazing shots!!!

    I went there just two weeks ago and had a fun time, too.


Leave a Reply

