Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

GRIGGSTOWN Abandoned… November 5, 2008

You may recognize this location from the shoot in the post below this one of the S Family at the canal.  It’s a favorite spot of mine along the D&R Canal in historic Griggstown, NJ.  If you’re a blog frequenter of mine I’m sure you’ve seen some of the windows and doors of this building featured a number of times.  Because I like the character and texture on this building I find myself shooting it over and over…

Griggstown is an unincorporated area and a historic district within Franklin Township, in Somerset County, New Jersey first settled around 1733.

It is a small, picturesque village that lies on the Delaware and Raritan Canal. This canal criss-crosses the state of New Jersey and in the 1800’s was a major means of transporting goods between Philadelphia and New York.

Canal Barges bearing goods have now been replaced by canoes and kayaks. One can still find remnants of “canal life” along the towpath and roads that traverse the village. This building probably housed mill workers at one time. When it was modernized, asbestos was used in its restoration. Now this building is gutted and closed to the public.

 

14 Responses to “GRIGGSTOWN Abandoned…”

  1. graspthemoment Says:

    Some of your best work yet

  2. Julie McLeod Says:

    Oh, I love these! I want to shoot this location!
    What lens did you use for these, Jen?

  3. Thanks Brian. 🙂

    Julie – I shot the entire series with the 12-24 Tokina. The wide angle really worked with this location and the series! If you’re ever in Jersey – look me up and I’ll gladly take you here!

  4. effiemay Says:

    great shots of a very beautiful spot…you sure could get some awesome ‘senior shots’ there

  5. julielawsonphotography Says:

    I agree with everyone else! Fantastic attention to details. This would also be a neat place for engagement shoots.

    Great work on the processing too.

  6. suehenryphotography Says:

    My kind of place — old, textured, character. Love it! Nice processing on this series, Jen.

  7. suehenryphotography Says:

    I want to add that the first three are my favorites! 🙂

  8. wow. these are really interesting.

  9. Vinnie Says:

    These are fantastic! The wide angle was a perfect choice. I love old historic buildings and you photographed this one very well.

  10. Mike Palmer Says:

    I like the perspective you used on the “locked” shot – the low POV give the feeling of being small and helpless

  11. oscarstavern Says:

    You know I LOVE old buildings! Great images. The B&W really gives it an old feeling. Love it!

  12. Julie McLeod Says:

    Jen, I thought that was your 12-24. I’ve been pining for a wide angle lens and sure needed it today for a building I was shooting. I love what you do with it!!!!

  13. fabulous angles and attention to detail! Oh…somebody said that! This set is so you JEN!

  14. […] Jen of Jen Rinaldi Photography – “Griggstown Abandoned“ […]


Leave a Reply

