Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Coming Soon: Author, Nancy Marino November 12, 2008

I had the extreme pleasure of photographing Nancy Marino, referred to me through her niece Andrea, who is a friend from High School that I connected with on Facebook.

Nancy (or “Nan” for short) is being published for the first time and she needed photographs taken for various online publications.  Her book entitled:  Neil Armstrong is My Uncle and Other Lies Muscle Man McGinty Told Me is a Spring/Summer 2009 release from Roaring Books Press/MacMillan.

You can see her book’s Sneak Peek on this page: http://www.stimolaliterarystudio.com/sneak.html

I never met Nan before that day, in the park, but within 5 minutes of working with her I felt like I knew her forever.  Jo Ann and I took an instant liking to Nan, who isn’t a big fan of having her photo taken, and hadn’t had her photo taken for many years.  Once I heard this it was my goal to make her feel comfortable and to highlight her personality and beauty through my work.

Jo Ann and I helped Nan decided on wardrobe changes, jewelry choices and made her feel as comfortable as possible.  I think we achieved our goal when Nan told me, after the session, that she felt like she had spent the day with friends rather than having her photos taken by someone she never met before.  That made my heart sing since that was my goal (besides beautiful photos 🙂 )

Nan is one of the most wonderful people I have been able to work with so far and I enjoyed my time with her as well.

As soon as I edit all of Nan’s top picks and my top picks I will do a full scale blog post of our session!

Nan, I wish much success to you on your first published book!  I’ll be sure to promote your work here on my blog!  I’m very proud to be your photographer and so happy you love the results of our session!  You are an inspiration to Jo Ann & I.  Thanks for sharing a little bit of your life with us!

 

12 Responses to “Coming Soon: Author, Nancy Marino”

  1. An Author! Fabulous Jen. Waiting patiently!!!

  2. mom Says:

    Jen : A session isn’t posted where I don’t feel so proud to be your mom. Your talent blossems with every shoot!
    MOM

  3. suehenryphotography Says:

    There is so much to like about this post. Your work. Your relationship with your clients. Your opportunities. Your future.

    But, I really, really smiled at your mother’s comment, spoken with pride. “Your talent blossoms with every shoot.”

    Well said, mom!

  4. Jo Says:

    Jen – You have truly captured the beauty of an amazing woman.
    Nan – It was a true honor to have met you. I wish you all the success in the world. You are truly deserving of it!

  5. Mike Palmer Says:

    I like the edit jen! you already know my fav in this series

  6. Oscar Says:

    Wow thats neat! I’ll have to check it out!

  7. Kate Says:

    Nancy is my dearest friend in the world and I love her like my sister. She has many amazing attributes, but she never takes a good picture–until you! She let me see the whole session and I was amazed at how comfortable she looks in nearly every shot. I know she’s beautiful, but you really captured the true Nancy. Hats off to you as well as my good friend.

  8. Julie McLeod Says:

    Jen, I loved reading this post – you are so good at what you do! This portrait is fantastic and I can see it on the back cover of a book. Great work…

  9. Janie Lee Says:

    Jen,
    You did an incredible job photographing my sister, Nan Marino. I have tried for years and never came close to capturing her beauty- you did. I have a few favorites of your photos that I can see on the jackets of Nan’s books. Thank you. Janie Lee

  10. Jen

    What a great picture! I am a named character in Nancy’s book. As she becomes more famous, I am going to charge her for the use of my name. 🙂

    So I applaud you capturing her newfound success ! All the best. Tony

  11. […] I shared the sneak peek of the lifestyle portrait session of Author, Nancy Marino, back in this post from November and tonight I’m doing the long overdue follow […]

  12. MJ Says:

    I always knew that Nancy was a beautiful person inside. But this photo captures her outer beauty so eloquently.


Leave a Reply

