Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

It’s a Boy! Meet “Nik9” January 7, 2009

The “brown stork” (aka the UPS man) delivered “Nik 9” approximately12:00 pm Tuesday at my office.  I purchased it from my one and only favorite camera super store B&H Photo in NYC.

I have been contemplating getting a 2nd camera body for months so that I can take on more jobs in 2009 that I was afraid to tackle without a back up camera.  After thinking and thinking I finally went for it this Sunday!  Not only did a I go for it…the Nikon D90 purchase was the VERY FIRST purchase with the money I’ve made from all of my jobs in 2008!!  I couldn’t spend a cent until I really wanted something and this was it!

I went for the Nikon D90 because of the upgrade to the features of my Nikon D80 aka “The Gun.”  I thought about a D200 or D300 but with the added weight of those larger camera bodies I felt my wrist wouldn’t be able to handle the added stress.  I knew this from experience after using my sister’s D300 for a wedding I did last year.

*While your at it (after you check out the pics below) why don’t you stop over and congratulate Julie on her new arrival “Nak 9.”

As soon as “Nik9” arrived I took his photo with my cell phone as soon as I got it out of the box:

Lucas was my very first model…isn’t he the handsomest model around?

He got a little tired of posing at the end and let me know it… 🙂

Before I was done playing with the new toy I tried the video feature on the D90 which I think will come in handy to make quick videos of set-ups or fun moments at video shoots! 🙂

If you’re looking for great camera goods, accessories and every electronic you can think of – order from B&H Photo by using either of the links in my right side bar- you won’t be sorry you with them!  Their service is better than no other!

 

11 Responses to “It’s a Boy! Meet “Nik9””

  1. colblue Says:

    Nice camera Jen, I’m sure you will be happy with it!!

    So will “The Gun” be relegated to the back-up position or will you alternate between the two?

  2. Two bodies is definately the way to go. I wish I had two bodies – imagine the work that I could get done! Seriously good idea though. I hope 2009 is busy busy busy for you….Kevin

  3. Julie McLeod Says:

    Some amazing snaps from that new baby! You’re going to have so much fun!

  4. Mike Palmer Says:

    NICE!!! BaZOOka!!

  5. suehenryphotography Says:

    Congratulations! I’m happy for you (and a little envious.) 🙂

  6. Clear photos Jen. I know you are a happy camper!!! Enjoy it!

  7. Vinnie Says:

    Congrats on the new camera but you know I really have to comment on the black dog – Lucas. Love the pictures of him especially the yawn. Look at his tongue, it’s so sharp!

  8. Darlene Barnes Says:

    Congratulations! Lil Sis. It’s awesome to see you move up in the world of Photography.

  9. oscarstavern Says:

    Aw, I remember when you got your other one.. Your family is growing…. (grampa G)

  10. shan1c3 Says:

    Wow, I’m still in high school, but I’m a photographer too. I have some photos on National Geographic. there’s a link to my gallery on my page. I’m working on my portfolio to send to Princeton’s college board hoping to get college credit. But yeah, I wish I had a D90. Nikon is like the God of all cameras.lol.


Leave a Reply

