Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

New Bern, North Carolina January 13, 2009

North Carolina was beauti-ous this past Saturday.  You can’t beat enjoying temperatures in the mid 60’s while the rest of your friends and family are home in New Jersey shoveling snow!

I had a chance to visit the town of New Bern where half of my family moved away to over the last couple years.  The town is so quaint and charming.  The store fronts are so sweet and there are so many cute cafes, coffee shops and restaurants.

New Bern from afar:

It seemed as if everyone was out enjoying the weather, walking their dogs along the pathway that runs next to the water, or out enjoying their boats.  I spent a lot of time, in good company, at the waterfront near the edge of town and might I say what a perfect cloud day it was (if you know me – you know I love a good “cloud day”)!  It was a great to be outdoors on a beautiful day while trying to get acquainted with my new D90.  Feels the same as the D80 but I have to really get used to the new features (and if you know me you’ll also know that I don’t like to read the manual!)

Click to view larger

Click to view larger

Click to view larger

New Bern is very proud of his history.  They have markers all over the town educating you on it’s past which was interesting to see.

Click to view larger

Click to view larger

I’m trying so hard to be better about enjoying the moments I experience with my eyes first and then with my camera in front of my eye.  I am trying to slow down and not take so many photos and trying to look at a scene and really see what would make a great photo (in my opinion) rather than take many shots to see what I have come up with later.  It’s a hard habit to break but I’m trying!

Oh my goodness…just look at those clouds!  What a sky!

Click to view larger

Click to view larger

 

12 Responses to “New Bern, North Carolina”

  1. julielawsonphotography Says:

    Simply stunning set. You chose just the right things to photograph. I’m glad you had good weather.

  2. suehenryphotography Says:

    I certainly understand what you mean about trying to break habits, slowing down, and planning shots more carefully. I’m working on the same thing and it is hard to make these changes. Looks like your plan is working, though.

  3. wild looking skies! hope you had a great time.

  4. oscarstavern Says:

    I Love New bern! I’ve spent a lot of time there. You’ll have to show me the rest of the shots! Nice!

  5. Julie McLeod Says:

    I love these shots – especially the canon. New Bern looks like a terrific place for a bit of a breather. It’s good to take time to stop and reassess your approach to the craft. Only good can come of that!

  6. Mike Palmer Says:

    Fantastico!! I dig the perspective on the canon!!

  7. The sky on that first shot is amazing! Great shots as usual…

  8. colblue Says:

    Cameras come with manuals? What will they think of next? :scratchhead:

    Lovely set of shots, Jen! Great clouds in the second last shot.

  9. Chris Says:

    Love how the photographs turned out! I love the sky in the two shots of the shore, and the clouds in the photo of the town is beautiful. I can see why you love cloud days!

  10. tim ross Says:

    Nice pics, very crisp and clear. I have spent time in New Bern, very quaint little fishing village. Good job. By the way, the clouds are called ‘stratocumulous’, look to be about 2500 feet. I am an old weather man, and like you, love clouds, especially thunderstorms!

  11. effiemay Says:

    exceptional captures Jen! you’re really rockin that new camera!!


Leave a Reply

