Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Curiosity of the Abandoned Gets The Best of Me in North Carolina! January 14, 2009

On our way home from the New Bern, North Carolina waterfront I spotted an abandoned house (that I saw on the way to our destination) that we just HAD to stop at!!

I ran around the house for 5 minutes getting the best angles and snapped a handful of shots and peeked in through the windows.  You could still see furniture, the remains of wallpaper and decorations rotting away inside.  It makes me wonder how a house could be left to fall apart like this when there are so many people out there that need a good home…

After I got my shots I made a mad dash back to the car before someone questioned why I was on private property that was clearly marked “no trespassing” — ummm..oopsy!  I just couldn’t help myself!

If you know me…you know that I can’t pass up a GEM like this – especially with one of the most beautiful skies above!!  I can’t get enough of places like this! There is something that just draws me right in.

Pssst!  By the way…REDYNAMIX plug-in for Photoshop ROCKS my sox!  I’m in LOVE.

Be sure to click on each photo below to view it larger…you need to get the full effect!

The above shot in B&W

My favorite shot of the day!  SUN FLARE = LOVE!

 

18 Responses to “Curiosity of the Abandoned Gets The Best of Me in North Carolina!”

  1. Rustic and a bit eerie…just the right combo! Nice job spotting this. What a thrill for you to know you were trespassing. 😉

  2. colblue Says:

    The B&W version of the first shot is outstanding. The sky is perfect for this!

    I can see why your favourite shot is your favorite. That is a magical shot! A real standout!

  3. julielawsonphotography Says:

    I agree! These rock! Seriously some awesome photographs! I love every one of them.

  4. suehenryphotography Says:

    A good sky day + abandoned old house + ReDynamix = one fine series. I’m with Colin on black/white version of the first shot!

  5. Sometimes trespassing is worth it. Great conversions. Love the whole series.

  6. Julie McLeod Says:

    I think you should go into the photo tour business! You find the best places.

    These are fantastic! A lot to love here. 😉

  7. Vinnie Says:

    Great series Jen! Looking at the old run down house does make you wonder what happened there. I could make up all kinds of stories to go along with these photographs. And to top it off – beautiful sky! (PS. I won’t tell anyone you were trespassing.) 😉

  8. Mike Palmer Says:

    Super Series R2 – Perfect use of ReDynaMix –

  9. Once again, I am utterly Impressed with your work.

  10. Chris Says:

    Wow so I really didn’t think that old beat up house would have photographed that well. Very nice work, Jen. I love the sun flare photo and the first photo is amazing.

  11. Crash Says:

    These are super awesome. Great job Jen. Going to check out ReDynamix now. Hope you’re well and take care.
    Crash

  12. Andy Says:

    All wonderful… I like the third from the top; portrait orientation an that great sky really works for me.

    Great decision to stop!

  13. These are very wonderful and inspiring shots! I think it’s very cool that you ran around the house in fear of being caught trespassing. Sounds like fun!

  14. missyphotography Says:

    Fun photos. I love the sun-flare also. Thanks for posting on my blog awhile back. Very sweet.

  15. graspthemoment Says:

    Top notch HDR work. A great find too. I already told you which was my favorite.

    but why didn’t you go inside???

  16. fayetteappletree Says:

    my jaw dropped when I saw these. so beautiful


Leave a Reply

