Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Ladies of the Civil War January 16, 2009

It’s been a while since I shared photos from the Civil War Reenactment my sister and I attended last April.  For tonight’s blog post I thought I’d mix things up from the usual and share more from the event (Additional photos I’ve posted previously can be seen HERE).  I had to put the editing of this even to the side when jobs started coming in.  I realized last night that I’m halfway done with them and it was time to share more.

This time I thought I’d focus on the “ladies of the civil war period” specifically.  Each woman put some much thought into their character and the details were impressive.

 

 

9 Responses to “Ladies of the Civil War”

  1. julielawsonphotography Says:

    Love these images! You chose the right ones to highlight. I love the vintage one too. Great job!

  2. Deb Yarnall Says:

    Great pics…although what woman wore eyeliner back in the day. lol

  3. JRP Says:

    LOL Deb, I didn’t even notice that! I was told that they try really hard to be accurate but you never know..maybe they did have make-up then! 🙂

  4. Wow! That 3rd one doesn’t look like it was from the reenactment but straight from the time! Ironically, as I opened this post I was listening to “Civil War” by Guns n Roses…..maybe tomorrow you can do a post on winning the lottery 😉

  5. suehenryphotography Says:

    Like Deb, I found it interesting to note the exceptions to the participant’s accuracy in detail. 😉

    And, like Julie….the vintage processed image; WOW! Surperb.

    I remember some of your earlier photos and remember thinking what a wonderful photo opportunity and how beautifully you captured the event.

  6. graspthemoment Says:

    Great series.

    As a son of Civil War reinactors, I still flinch at seeing them though… LOL… I think if my sister ever saw a hoop skirt again she’d run right to therapy.

    UPDATE… showed my Mom and she said the second woman is a “FOB” (said with a disgust to her voice) because the hat she’s wearing is not authentic.

  7. Mike Palmer Says:

    and you went farther back then me = ) I do like the shots Jen – esp the series waving

  8. Julie McLeod Says:

    This is a really fun series, Jen! What an interesting hobby that must be..

    (That 2nd shot is wonderful!)

  9. effiemay Says:

    these are awesome Jen…you really captured some great shots. Love the lighting in 1, 5, 6 & 7. The processing on 3 is superb!!


Leave a Reply

