Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Visiting… January 25, 2009

This afternoon I had a chance to visit with my friend and her 2 boys J & M.  I haven’t see them since the summer so it was great to catch up.

I had the chance to take candids of J a few times when he was younger but this was my first chance to get some of his little brother M.

M is a little wiggler so it was hard to get him to sit still for photos. 🙂 I was testing using the 50mm (f1.4) on the D90 with no flash and ISO around 500-600 so being a bit more still is always helpful – LOL.  When we had good natural light coming through the windows I did really well with this set up.  With the D90 grain in the photos taken with higher ISO is barely noticeable.  I’m really thrilled with that!

I want to be able to take photos without flash in darker situations and I’m seriously contemplating purchasing the Nikon 24-70 2.8 lens after Mike Palmer raved about it and I did some research.  A lens like that might be the ticket to low light natural portraits as well as weddings & parties where you don’t want to use flash all the time.  I have to do a lot of contemplating before the 3 weddings I’m doing to decide about this purchase!

M was enjoying playing his own version of peek-a-boo at the front door with me:

Here is the “enthralled with the TV” look.

My heart just melted with this sweet smile and those big brown eyes!!

J’s blue eyes are gorgeous!  He wasn’t feeling well today so I only got a few photos of him.

I asked him if he wanted to take any more photos with me and he politely replied “no thank you.”  So sweet!

I love natural moments like this…

This is Guinness.  I love his ears!  They are so stinkin cute!

Every time he heard the beep from the camera he turned his head like this. LOL 🙂

I love the DOF of the 50mm 1.4.  I just wish this was more in focus…

Just like my dog Guinness was enjoying laying in the sun.

 

7 Responses to “Visiting…”

  1. julielawsonphotography Says:

    What a perfect series! I just love these little guys’ eyes. They are both truly adorable and that dog is so cute!! I’m glad you had a good visit.

  2. mom Says:

    Jen: This a geat shoot, but now I am confused, didn’t know S had 2 boys already. Thought this was her second coming up in Aug…….do ya think it is a girl? That would be a perfect addition t their family.

    MOM

  3. Julie McLeod Says:

    Oh, these boys are handsome! And, those eyes! I love all of these, especially the black & whites and the textured one…

    And the dog is cuter than cute. Boston Terriers are full of personality…

  4. Lee Gro Says:

    love that second to last shot…. great doggie pic. oh yeah the kid is cute too. awesome work as always.

  5. the kids, the dog, the lighting and processing are all do well done. What stunning eyes the boys have!

  6. oscarstavern Says:

    Wow Jen, great shots, both boys and puppy are cute!

    you continue to amaze me.

  7. suehenryphotography Says:

    #3, #4, #5 — Sooooooooo wonderful!

    It’s interesting to read about the lenses you are thinking about purchasing. I learn from your “research!” 🙂


Leave a Reply

