Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Wonderland February 3, 2009

I purposely brought my camera with me to work today when I saw the snow that was falling this morning when I left for work.

It was majestic…beautiful…simply breathtaking!

I adore the tree highlighted below.  I’m not sure I can explain my fascination with trees but I saw this one last year and I knew I had to find a way to capture it how I imagined.  When I photographed it last winter it was a rainy winter day rather than snowy.  Today I got exactly what  I wanted!

I was probably quite the sight for any passers by that may have seen me.  I was in my nice work clothes, long coat with a furry hood and my big snow boots.  I had to pull into a sharp turn around a corner in an area that says no trespassing, stop at the chained off road, and walk all the way down the hill to get to the tree.    Click HERE for a photo taken 3/4 of the way back to my car.  Too bad I couldn’t get one of me trudging through the snow!  LOL

Click HERE to see the tree captured last winter and the story if how I found it.  

I’d like to capture it in all seasons if I can.

Please click to view larger


Please click to view larger

Please click to view larger

This is a favorite of mine from the day.  I just thought it was a very different perspective.


This is from another stop on the same road.  I love this roadway and tree as well.  Too bad this is another area that says no trespassing. I’d love to see more of it.

 

14 Responses to “Wonderland”

  1. Definately a wonderland Jen and wonderful images. We’ve got about an inch of snow in the UK at the moment and the whole country, rediculously, has ground to a halt! Ho hum…..Kevin

  2. photorover Says:

    Beautifully done!

    I especially like the seed heads with the great tree for a backdrop.

  3. Elaine Says:

    Jen, these are wonderful! I really like the reverse DOF you did with the snow capped seedpods and the tree in the back ground. It has a “someday when I grow up….” feel to it. The whole seriese are great though. I had to laugh at you pulling up to the no trespassing gate. I have stopped several times in a no parking zone to get the shot I wanted. I just hope that the officer that eventually will catch me will be an amatuer photographer!!!!

  4. julielawsonphotography Says:

    Wonderful wonderful series. I can’t pick a favorite. You did good, well worth the possibility of getting yelled at. LOL

  5. MOM Says:

    Hey “snow angel” Snow covered trees are facinating…..great makes you forget how they looked in bloom. What is more beautiful leaves or snow? tough choice.

    Love ya
    MOM

  6. Julie McLeod Says:

    I like your mom’s thought………..your shots make me forget how much I want winter to go away………………

  7. Mike Palmer Says:

    Nice Series, good for you getting out there!! 4th down is my fav!

  8. great title for this…it is a winter wonderland! It seems like you stayed there quite a while too!

  9. suehenryphotography Says:

    At the rate you are going with this one beautiful tree, I can see a book — four seasons; many perspectives. 🙂

  10. Jo Says:

    omg when i walked outside this morning i said to myself -i hope to god jen has her camera so she can work her magic – and my goodness you did just that my friend – what beauty and i hate snow!

  11. colblue Says:

    A nice, cold series of images. 1 and 4 and standouts for me! Great job, Jen! 🙂

  12. Vinnie Says:

    I agree with you on the favorite. Nice DOF on that one.

  13. oscarstavern Says:

    Real nice Jen! I agree with your favorite!

  14. tony Says:

    Wow! I wish we got snow like that, or should say at all. Very beautiful.


Leave a Reply

