Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Blue Skies at the Kitty Hawk Dunes February 8, 2009

This week I needed a little distraction from the work I was doing so I dove into some unedited photos from my trip to Outer Banks back in Aug/Sept of this year.
The photos below were taken in the Kitty Hawk Dunes. The sky was AMAZING that day.  So blue…and a polarizer doesn’t hurt either! If you don’t have one for shooting the sky…get one!
I can’t even describe what it’s like to climb dunes this tall and then walk around inside of them.   The silence you experience while you’re in the dunes is amazing.
Please click to view larger
Please click to view larger

The dunes are famous for hang gliding:

Honestly, I could have stayed there for hours but I dragged my poor mom around enough so I took the photos I wanted and we headed to our next destination that day.

Mom in the Dunes
Mom in the Dunes…
This is me doing my own impersination of Titanic on top of the Dunes (taken by my mom)
If you’ve never seen or heard about these dunes do a search for “Kitty Hawk Dunes” on youtube.com and take a look at some of the videos people have posted.

 

12 Responses to “Blue Skies at the Kitty Hawk Dunes”

  1. julielawsonphotography Says:

    aww these are so wonderful! I love the blue skies that you had that day. Too bad you girls had to cut that trip short.

  2. Bill Jelenko Says:

    It’s a beautiful place! Your pictures are warm and alive! And the polarizer did a great job, too.

  3. Crash Says:

    Nice work Jen. Hope you’re well. Crash

  4. Dane Says:

    Beautiful place. Short trip for us here in VA. Did you get to the Wright Bros. Museum?

  5. The blue skies totally pop. I love the depth of color in your shots. I remember back when you had visited the dunes with your mom. You are so lucky to have her to go out on adventures with! Your titanic impression makes me giggle!

  6. that much silence makes me nervous.

  7. oscarstavern Says:

    These are Great Jen! I know this place well. Makes me think I’m there. OOh look! There’s Jen!

  8. Chris Says:

    I love these pictures! To think I live so close and have never been..

  9. Lee Gro Says:

    so nice to see these especially during the winter, and i adore the last one that your mom took.

  10. colblue Says:

    My polarizer never seems to come of my camera. They are fantastic for landscapes!

    Nice looking place, I’m sure you could spend a lot of time there shooting.

    Your poor mum sitting out there in the dunes… I’m glad you took it easy on her. 🙂

  11. MOM Says:

    OMG Jen……………. I had flashbacks of our trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was a great day and I loved being dragged around with you!
    I miss hanging with you ….
    MOM


Leave a Reply

