Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

The “Two-Fifty-Eight” February 24, 2009

Saturday’s agenda included a car ride up the 258 North, approximately an hour outside of Jacksonville, NC, to look for photo ops.

I was determined to find all of the abandoned “gems” that I had been scoping out on my previous road trips in and out of North Carolina.

I was able to get most of what I wanted to capture (which I’m sharing with you below) as well as an additional property I photographed (before being chased away) that I will share sometime this week (when I have time to go through & edit them).

It’s been wonderful to have someone interested in riding along with me on these photo journeys, who may not be a photographer, but appreciates my enthusiasm and love for it.  It certainly makes these photo hunts all the more pleasant!

Since I’ve tapped out my surrounding areas in NJ I love having another state to explore!!!

I used a number of editing software and actions on each of these to get the desired look I was going for.

*Promise me that you’ll click on each version to view them larger.  The smaller versions just don’t do them justice!*

A personal favorite (below)!

Another favorite

I processed this one two ways…I think I like the one above best because of the golden tones and the creepier sky but I’m getting various opinions…what do you think?

 

11 Responses to “The “Two-Fifty-Eight””

  1. I think you have grunge fever! Excellent series. I love the 2nd to last one and your favorite with the golden tones. So cool!

  2. suehenryphotography Says:

    Glad (I think) that you ignored the “Posted Private Property” signs and captured these. I think I will agree with Heather on choices of favorites. And, I’ll agree with YOU that “the smaller versions don’t do them justice.” Clicking to view larger made all the difference.

    Psst….love the sun flares! And, glad you are having a little “fun” these days.

  3. Simply fantastic!!!! These are definetly my latest favorites from you. Great job on all of them. Too bad you got chased away. 😀

  4. mom Says:

    Love these Jen, and I am glad you have someone to share your love of photographing your favorite haunts (no pun intended).I am happy for you.

  5. Great stuff Jen. I think the fourth one is my favourite. I love the processing you used on it, and the sun glare matches the scene perfectly. Brilliant shots.

  6. Mike Palmer Says:

    R2 you getting any sleep? Nice series Jen I like the creepy sky also

  7. Julie McLeod Says:

    NC is good to you! These are fabulous, mesmerizing, and you captured the forgotten mood so well. My favorites are 3,4, and 6 in that order.

    From the sounds of it, it may be good to have a companion who can double as a bodyguard. 😉

  8. Anna Says:

    Beautiful stuff! I love a good grungy scene. This was my first time to your blog and I’ll definitely be back!

  9. Andy Says:

    One of us is consistent… once again, I really like the first one. (All are great.) Seeing the empty field around it adds to the building’s sense of desolation.

  10. colblue Says:

    A wonderful series of shots, the processing is very good!

    I think #4 is very good. I like the dark look it has!

  11. oscarstavern Says:

    Last shot is my fav! Love old bldgs!


Leave a Reply

