Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

No Trespassing February 25, 2009

I loved this abandoned house the first time I saw it and I was excited to be able to stop at it on Saturday and walk around to get some photos.  It took me a little while to look around the house and get warmed up as to what I wanted to take. We walked around 3/4 of the property checking things out and looking in windows that I could reach safely.  There was still really cool old furniture inside and some great details.  I’m took chicken to go inside a place this old for fear of falling through the floor boards but I would have liked to have snapped some shots through the windows.

By the time I finally had a picture in my head of what I wanted the series to look like and started snapping away my happiness was broken by the words “Can I help you?” being shouted from an open window of a huge SUV on the roadside.

We knew that was the end and we skulked back towards our car.  We decided to approach the woman and tell her why were there so she wasn’t super suspicious of us.  It was simply explained that I love photography and I love old homes like this.  I guess our charm didn’t work on her because we were told that it was “someone’s property”…which was curtly followed up by the words “MINE.”

I was praying by some luck that she’d say that we could walk around and take more photos but that didn’t happen.  We were told to “move along” by the owner.   I was disappointed but I guess that’s what happens when you *ahem* trespass *cough, cough.*

Luckily it was the first time this had ever happened to me because it’s not the most pleasant experience.  We had no choice but to get our butts out of there right away because you never know what can happen…

Before we were told to “move along” I was actually able to get a few shots that I like the results of…

*Please click on them to view them larger…It really helps to give the details justice.*

My favorite find of the day was this creepy, deformed, face-down doll laying in the grass at the back of the house.  It looked like it had been there for a very long time.  A minute after I found this was when were were busted so I’m so happy I got this shot in.

Additional structures behind the home:


 

13 Responses to “No Trespassing”

  1. you are so good at finding these “goodies”!

  2. colblue Says:

    These are awesome shots!! It looks like an amazing place to shoot. Just a shame the owners aren’t artistic, otherwise you might have been allowed to shoot for longer.

  3. Wow – that doll shot, is kind of …. creepy! Great captures though and processing. I think my favourite is #4 – very moody.

  4. simply fantastic!!!! I wondered what that object was until I read what you wrote. Wow that place is awesome and what a history I’m sure it could tell.

  5. Julie McLeod Says:

    I’m so glad you got the shots you did – its an incredible find. That house sure could tell a lot of stories. Too bad the owner didn’t have more of a generous spirit…

  6. Jo Says:

    love the pics – how awesome – totally worth the run in with ms it’s really not my property i’m just noisy and have no life – lol

  7. Mike Palmer Says:

    EVIL doll shot!! I can hear it slithering through the grass moaning!! = )

  8. Anna Says:

    Love that last shot! The, “Can I help you,” phrase is definitely dreaded. Bummer that you didn’t get to shoot more though.

  9. Debra Says:

    Good thing the owner was “nice”. This is totally something out of Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

  10. suehenryphotography Says:

    What a story! Gotta ask; who is the “we?” Hopefully Chris was with you for protection! 🙂 Sounds like you need him to drive the “get away car!” Great photos of a wonderful find.

  11. sonalagarwal1989 Says:

    Marvelous, outstanding and lovely these shots are.
    Really loved your work Jen!! Every pic on your blog is awesome!

  12. JRP Says:

    Thanks for all of your comments. 🙂

    Sue, Yes- Chris was with me. I wouldn’t go alone on this journey. 🙂

    sonalagarwal1989: Thank you so much for your comment. Feel free to stop again by anytime!

  13. These are awesome, i love older abandoned homes and buildings as well. I’m very surprised I haven’t been stopped yet.

    Nice work and good luck next time.

    B Dad


Leave a Reply

