Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

I Know I Have Reasons to Smile May 11, 2009

Do not look back and grieve over the past, for it is gone;

and do not be troubled about the future, for it has not yet come.

Live in the present, and make it so beautiful that it will be worth remembering.


This was taken the Sunday after my father passed away. Chris and I took a long ride and I saw this gorgeous field of flowers and knew that on the way back that I needed to stop there. I asked him to take this photo of me. Nature is beautiful and I love capturing it. On this day this field of flowers and my day with Chris made me smile even though I felt such sadness.

Losing a parent is one of the hardest things one could imagine.

I still feel like it’s a bad dream and I’m waiting to wake up from it.

You lose a piece of your heart when someone close to you dies but after time passes the hurt seems to lessens a little each day.

I started to see a little clearer through the hazy fog I was walking through for the past couple weeks and even though I was devastated…and I felt as if life was so unfair…I realized that I still have reasons to smile.

Spending time with those that I love dearly helped to heal the pain and anguish each day.  Seeing the outpouring of love from so many people who genuinely cared enough to send words of encouragement through emails, Facebook messages, calls, cards, texts, lifted my spirits each day.

It’s hard to decide what to do next.  I’ve been away from my home in NJ for 2 weeks and 3 days.  When I arrived home tonight, from NC, I felt as if I didn’t know where to begin…and hours later I still feel that way.  I’m all out of sorts and flustered that I don’t know where to start and how to get back to normal.

I know it will take time, but if you know me, I’m not that patient about letting things sit for too long no matter what is going on in my life. I have a lot of work to do and more work is on it’s way…so rest assured that I will be back to “somewhat” normal soon.  I will be working away into the late hours on my photography jobs and trying to think about the positive things in life rather than the bad luck that I feel I’ve been experiencing for a while.  My work is one of the things that seems to keep me going through anything.  I’m so thankful for the gift of photography given to me by my Dad (aka: Poppy-Seed).

I have a lot further to go before some of the turmoil in my life subsides but with all of your love and support I know I will make it through.

We gain strength, and courage, and confidence by each experience in which we really stop to look fear in the face…

we must do that which we think we cannot. –Eleanor Roosevelt

(thx Amy for the quote)

hugs! xoxo

Jen

 

17 Responses to “I Know I Have Reasons to Smile”

  1. What a beautiful post, Jen. Hold on to the strength that is God-given….it will pull you through even such a time. You are in my prayers!!

  2. Lovely words Jen – take it easy and just look for the good things!

  3. I love you sweets! I will always be here for you. You are always in my thoughts and prayers. You will make it through all this stuff and you’ll be stronger because of it.

    Hugs!!

  4. suehenryphotography Says:

    It’s good to see you smile. Looks like you might turn Chris into a photographer! = )

    Thanks for sharing this heartfelt post. I continue to have you in my thoughts and prayers. Taking one day at a time; you WILL see brighter days ahead.

    Hugs!

  5. Dina Says:

    This is beautiful 🙂 the picture CHris took is so peaceful. Nature has that effect. That’s what mother nature is here for. Hang on to your strength.

  6. Amy Says:

    Jen this post is beautiful. Just take your time getting back to normal. There really is no “rush.” I have learned that healing is something that is an infinite process. We are always here for you. We love you! I’m glad we have the relationship we have. Makes me smile!

  7. nan marino Says:

    Jen,

    It’s a beautiful picture. Even in your time of great sorrow, you are able to find a moment of comfort. I am inspired by your strength. Take good care of yourself. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. George Says:

    Jen lovely post – I have been there so know all you have gone and are going through ((((Hugs))))

  9. Lovely attitude Jen. The photograph Chris took of you is gorgeous. Despite everything we have to find some peace in the way things are-or are not. Life is really too beautiful to waste. Your dad would want you to pick up the pieces. You have so many memories to cherish and keep alive. Love you!

    Heather

  10. oscarstavern Says:

    Thats my Jen. Great post! Good Words. Pretty girl

    I’m here.

  11. Julie McLeod Says:

    Every day is going to be better. I promise.

  12. Lee Gro Says:

    beautiful post!

  13. Andy Says:

    Yeah, it’s not bad luck. Just that nasty “life” thing we’re thrown into. Keeps us on our toes and moving forward.

    Glad to have you back!

  14. mom Says:

    Jen: I love you baby

  15. colblue Says:

    It is a lovely post, Jen!

  16. Jo Says:

    Jen I love this – You definitely have plenty to smile about…
    You are a beautiful, talented and simply amazing person.
    Your strength is what I admire most about you.
    Thank you for sharing that with the world.

  17. Jen this was an AMAZING post and you are simply an AMAZING woman. xoxoxxo


Leave a Reply

