Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Standing Out in a Crowd May 27, 2009


Trees are the earth’s endless effort to speak to the listening heaven.

~Rabindranath Tagore, Fireflies, 1928

In contrast to yesterday’s post regarding being alone in a crowd….

This is another in a series of photos that I took after the passing of my father during the 2 longest weeks of my life weeks in North Carolina. This photo was on the roadside in Pollocksville, NC close to where I photographed the horse pasture 2 posts back.

This area is known for the logging industry and this forest was a logging forest.  I love how perfectly the trees are planted in rows.  Sometimes I think that logging is sad but I know that it’s definitely necessary.  It just hurts to see the trees cut down…a forest cleared…but the positive is that they are replantedI guess that is the the cycle of life.

I wanted something positive to come from the lost of my father.  I tried with volunteering organ or tissue donation but unfortunately he wasn’t a good candidate we were told…which broke my heart.  I’m glad we tried metaphorically to “replant” even if it didn’t work out.

I’m a registered organ donor…I thought I’d include the link in case anyone else is interested in considering it:  http://organdonor.gov/donor/index.htm

On another note:  I noticed that sometimes, the way I process photos, depends on how I’m feeling at the time.  Rather then describe how I felt in my heart (in words) during the moment I took this photo – I processed it this way to convey a specific mood.  Do you feel it?

*Click to view larger for a more detailed view*

 

6 Responses to “Standing Out in a Crowd”

  1. just beautiful Jen. The trees represent so much strength and beauty…everything recycles over time-even love. It’s great that you are an organ donor and included the link.

    The mood of your photo to me is some place between peace & glory.

  2. suehenryphotography Says:

    I feel strength. And, the words “reaching up to heaven” are powerful.

    Thanks for the organ donor link. I have always SAID I want to donate but have never put those thoughts in writing. I need to do that.

  3. Enigma3 Says:

    Jen,

    I like this photo because it does convey a strong mood. My guess would be that you must have felt quite gloomy and sad because of the faded color effect you chose. The good news is that goominess itself fades away and turns into happiness eventually and all colors will return to their full splendor.

  4. Beautiful image. Love the use of lines. Nice work!

  5. Andy Says:

    The tonality in photographs (and in yours) definitely can convey feelings and mood.

    (Many musicians will tell you that the key or “tonality” of a music will change the mood of a musical work.)

  6. Julie McLeod Says:

    I love this image, Jen. Remember, your dad ‘planted’ much during his life whether his organs were donated or not…


Leave a Reply

