Jen Rinaldi Photography

Capturing Life's Fleeting Moments…

Picnic’in Fun at The Red Mill in Clinton, NJ June 16, 2009

Yesterday we took a ride the Red Mill in Clinton, NJ armed with a cooler filled with yummy submarine sandwiches and snacks.  We arrived in Clinton and parked at the Red Mill and walked over the bridge to the side of the waterfall that faced the Mill and set down our cooler and got comfortable.

We ate our lunch enjoying the view of the Mill and the waterfall.

Luckily we were done with our lunch when Chris discovered that we had a lunch visitor sitting directly next to our cooler and US!!  Eeeeeewwwwww!

I did NOT take my time getting up and out of there…but I did go back for a photo!  Ha!

I have been wanting to visit the Mill for about a year and finally had the opportunity.

The ca. 1810 Red Mill was originally built as a woolen mill. Over the next 100 years, the Mill was used at different times to process grains, plaster, talc and graphite. The Mill was also used to produce peach baskets, as well as to generate electricity and pump water for the town.

After we ate I got some photography time in and was able to capture photos of the Mill (after waiting ten minutes for “MR JOHN” to get out of all of my shots! lol!).

It started out as a beautiful sunny day…perfect for a picnic but of course as soon as I was set up with the camera and tripod it started to rain a little. We devised a way to still be able to get my shots:  I carry a black trash bag in my camera bag and we placed it over me and the camera like a mini-tent.  Despite some shots with rain drops in them because the lens got a little wet I took some photos that I was pleased with.  🙂

After photos the drizzling rain stopped, we packed up my gear, and took a walk down the cute little main street of the town and Chris enjoyed an ice cream while I enjoyed an Italian ice.  🙂

The ice cream store was the most charming little place ever —> JJ Scoops!

We had such a wonderful day!!  🙂

 

11 Responses to “Picnic’in Fun at The Red Mill in Clinton, NJ”

  1. Enigma3 Says:

    Looks like you guys were having a great time. The photos of the mill are really cool with the troubled weather in the background.

  2. suehenryphotography Says:

    Snakes make me run really, really fast in the opposite direction. I wouldn’t have taken time to snap a photo!

    The mill looks like a wonderful spot to visit and photograph — and you got some great photos. I love the sky and think it enhances the overall mood of the images.

  3. Jeri Says:

    Great series, Jen! You did a great job with your ISO issue, too. You could probably do some of these in vintage and make the coolest postcards! 🙂

  4. Sonja Says:

    Got your clouds in huh! 🙂

  5. Andy Says:

    Hey… quit havin’ so much fun lately! 😉

    Some very cool mill shots.

  6. leegro Says:

    i like

  7. Julie Says:

    Oh, do I ever love these mill photos. Great processing on top of the fabulous compositions which, of course, make the best of the brooding sky.

  8. Amber Dawn Says:

    oh, wow! Those pictures that you captured are just breath-taking. Excellent work! 🙂

  9. Looks like you had a blast! Great stuff

  10. oscarstavern Says:

    I love that place – You look happy!

  11. Chris Says:

    This was a really amazing couple of trips.

    Even though they all got rained out, I love the photos of the mill. It was really cool to be able to see the process from start to finish. It was really cool to be able to see how you process these photos as well. (If some of you other photogs haven’t noticed, Jen has completely introduced me to your world. Amazing.)

    I love 11, 12 and 13. The processing on these photos is really amazing. Great job Jen!

    I think I”M going to have one of these printed once I come back from my 7 week stint in the hot sands of California. (grrrrr I hate 29 Palms!)

    Beautiful work!


Leave a Reply

