In Memoriam

Robert Lawrence Jordan

1946-2009

Michael Palmer 2008
Photo Credit: ©Michael Palmer 2008 – taken at the Gettysburg Photo Walk

It’s interesting how someone you never met can really touch your heart. I never met Bob in person but I consider him a great virtual friend.  I met Bob through our blogging circle and we became friendly.  I loved looking at his nature work which was clearly his passion.  We would often get into conversations offline about our similar interests. I had hoped to be able to meet up with him to tour around his beautiful neck of the woods but I never got a chance…

Hippy Bob This is my first post! Just wanted to post a pic of me taken in 1976. I changed a little bit now that Im 61! Im sitting in my 1953 Ford 3/4 ton pickup with my transistor radio hanging from the rear view mirror. To the right you can see my bicentenial bouquet.
Taken from Bob's first Blog post back in June titled: Hippy Bob "This is my first post! Just wanted to post a pic of me taken in 1976. I changed a little bit now that I'm 61! I'm sitting in my 1953 Ford 3/4 ton pickup with my transistor radio hanging from the rear view mirror. To the right you can see my bicentennial bouquet." Click on the photo to view his first blog post.

When Bob heard I was heading to the Outer Banks (North Carolina) this past summer Bob emailed me with a number of places to stop by and check out.  I really appreciated all of his advice on where to visit while there.

“An Outer Banks Sunset for Bob”

Click to view larger

Bob shared his gallery of late 60’s photos with me that he had been working on scanning and I adored looking through them…I wished I had been around to capture what he had the opportunity to experience and capture.  Below is an excerpt from the 60’s gallery on his website:

“From 1967 to 1970 I attended many peace demonstrations in Washington, DC. I shot around 3000 images using a Nikon F100 camera. These are just a few of those shots. At present I’m still going through the rest of my negatives and will be posting more as they come. It was a great time to be alive!”

Photo Credit: ©Bob Jordan

For everything there is a season,
And a time for every matter under heaven:
A time to be born, and a time to die;
A time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
A time to kill, and a time to heal;
A time to break down, and a time to build up;
A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn, and a time to dance;
A time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones together;
A time to embrace, And a time to refrain from embracing;
A time to seek, and a time to lose;
A time to keep, and a time to throw away;
A time to tear, and a time to sew;
A time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
A time to love, and a time to hate,
A time for war, and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

Bob’s Website: http://canyonrimphotography.smugmug.com/

Bob’s Blog – Canyon Rim Photography: http://canyonrimphotography.blogspot.com/

Winchester Star Obituary

Bob, you will be missed by many.

5 thoughts on “In Memoriam

  1. Sorry to hear of his passing. I never got around to visiting his blog or site before, which was my loss. At least he will live on in the hearts of those his art has touched.

Leave a comment